Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Sorry, but about the only thing positive I can say about this recipe is that it makes a nice moist meatloaf. This may have been a result of using butter crackers or maybe because I use beef/pork/veal for my meatloaves instead of ground beef. I also use only 1 egg instead of 2. The negative side is this recipe is way too sweet!!! All that sugar! I will use the cracker idea again, but that's it. I'll go back to my brown gravy instead. This tasted too much like a sweet sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Yum!! The sweeteness was a nice change. It was easy to prepare with normal ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Really delicious, hubby gobbled up the entire loaf in 2 days . He commented it was the best meatloaf I ever made, the one thing we both agreed on was that there was too much sauce on the top, next time I will cut in 1/2. It may sound sweet but the vinegar and mustard cut the sweetness..This one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I made this for the first time, and everyone loved it. DH said it was "incredible" and the best meat loaf he ever had. Next time I may add a few more cracker crumbs to firm it up a little more - it was so moist that it did not hold together well when I was taking it out of the pan. But all 3 sons agreed the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Thank you for this great recipe. I have been searching for a really good meatloaf recipe and I know I have found it. I made it for dinner this evening and my family LOVED it. My son told me to throw away all my other meatloaf recipes and only use this recipe from now on. I intend to do just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This meatloaf is the best I've ever tasted. I have made it numerous times and I have a co-worker who made it and loves it, too. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
The only thing we didn't like about this was the sauce on top. Next time I make this I will omit the vinegar (you could tell it was in there)and make less of the sauce. Otherwise flavor and texture were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This turned out to be the best meatloaf I ever made. It stays together and my family finished it in one seating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Nokken Heup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I cut back on the sugar a bit,as well as the vinegar. I thought the meatloaf tasted great. Even the picky kids ate it :) the sweetness was a welcome change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a great recipe!!! My husband loved it. I have tried many meatloaf recipes and this is the best. Will cook it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States