Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
we did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
too sweet for me, I will cut the bacon up next time and place on top so that it will be easier when you cut the recipe in slices for serving also I will reduce the brown surgar to 1/4 cup next time to see if that helps the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Bishop Mullis
Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is probably the best meatloaf I have ever had. I was worried about the sweetness but it turned out wonderful and was well received by all who ate. I will be keeping this one. I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was great, I have adopted it as my offical meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! My kids used to complain when I announced we were having meatloaf for dinner, but since I started making this they love it!For everyone who said the recipe is too sweet - it is an amish meatloaf, it is supposed to be sweet. I don't think the sauce is at all too sweet, although it does make a lot of sauce. I pour some of the sauce over the veggies I bake with the meatloaf and it works out great. The only change I make is to substitute the ketchup with half ketchup/half bbq sauce. It gives it a really nice flavor! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Love this!! I made this for dinner one night when we had my bf's mom over for dinner. 3 weeks later, both of them are still raving about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepfanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
My family and I really liked this meatloaf - I cut the recipe in half since no one is a huge fan of leftovers and it wasn't too sweet at all. I did forget to make the sauce though - a common mistake in my crazy house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Based on several comments regarding this recipe being too sweet, and knowing there is a lot of sugar in ketchup, I left out the brown sugar. I didn't have bacon so didn't use that either. Because I like to push veggies, in addition to a chopped onion, I shredded up one carrot, finely chopped 1 celery stalk and added about 1/8 cup of chopped green pepper. I sauteed the veggies in a small amount of olive oil before adding it to the crumbs and meat. After all that, the meatloaf was excellent!! It was plain for me but my spice-averse husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I haven't read many reviews but I have to add my two cents. I've made this twice. First time I followed it almost exactly (I had to make homemade ketchup as I never buy the stuff) and it was wonderful! Second time, I added some spicy Italian sausage to the meat mix and used all BBQ sauce in place of ketchup and added a few drops of hickory smoke to the meat mix. I also omitted the bacon.and did not use any salt. My husband and I aren't into sweetish meat meals but this one (to us anyway) is NOT overly sweet like a few reviewers have stated. The BBQ sauce gave the glaze a lovely dark and very shiny colour. I cooked and cooled it and left it for one night in the fridge for the flavours to blend better and while the wait was a trial, it was WORTH it. I will try NO OTHER meatloaf recipe now after years of testing many. This is the Real Meatloaf McCoy. Thanks, Duano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States