Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I am from Ohio Amish country. I love a good hearty meatloaf. This meatloaf was too sweet and mushy, and reminded me only a little of the Amish meatloaves I am familiar with. I didn't add any sugar to the meat but, with so much ketchup (which is all sugar anyway!) it was still very sweet. I had a ton left over, so the next day, I sliced it and put the slices under the broiler. This helped with the mushiness a bit so none went to waste, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Interesting departure from traditional recipe. Very sweet. The crackers gave it a richness that gave some balance to the sweet. The glaze was great. The bacon was a nice addition. Next time I will eliminate the brown sugar in the meat. Just a bit too much sweet for my families taste. I must admit though, I kept slicing off "one more little piece"! It must be addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have never met a meatloaf I like, until now. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I am a meatloaf officionado. I make it dozens of different ways and am always looking for new takes on an old dish. This one was fabulous. I didn't find it sweet at all. It does make a lot of sauce so you could cut that in half. I used more meat and only 1 egg and it was the perfect consistency. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivvaughan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
The whole family liked this one with minor changes. I used half the onion because we don't like onion overpowering meat flavor and about 1/3 of the sauce that goes on top. I used oats instead of crackers. I also substituted half of the ground beef for ground venison just because that is what I have on hand. This will become my go to meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
ow my this is very sweet. if i make this again will cut the sugar. Nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I have used this recipe many times. My family are all crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Not terrible, but too sweet. I'll make it again but with less sugar and a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made this as in directions. Used ground sirloin for less fat. Used apple cider vinegar. Drained the fat before adding glaze. Used digital thermometer and cooked to 160 degrees. Took close to 90 minutes. I am fond of Brown Sugar Meatloaf and this is my new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Made this for my family, with the addition of 2 small, chopped green bell peppers. Everybody loved it! I've always hated meatloaf recipes that have too much bread in them, so, using Ritz Crackers instead of bread was a great way to combat that sogginess that the bread sometimes creates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gates, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States