Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
We did not care for this recipe. My entire family of 5, would not eat it after one bite! It was way too sweet with all the brown sugar in the meatloaf and the topping. Additionally, the topping destroyed the flavor of the meatloaf and added an odd sweet barbeque flavor. The recipe did not call for spraying the pan; therefore, it stuck to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Some of the best meatloaf I've had, it was a little sweet, I think next time I'll leave out the brown sugar all together, I also took other's advice and added some seasonings, sea salt, pepper and garlic powder. put less ketchup in and added worchestershire sauce and a little liquid smoke flavoring. I also put 4 strips of bacon on top and used my homemade bbq sauce with a little bit of mustard mixed in to top it. I cooked it for an hour then turned the broiler on to cook the bacon a bit more, then put the bbq sauce on and broiled a little bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I hate to be one of those people who changes everything, but.... based on the other reviews, I left the sugar out of the meatloaf mix. I also didn't realize the recipe called for Ritz, so I subbed toasted plain bread crumbs. I also added half of a chopped green bell pepper and a medium onion and a package of dry onion soup mix. And I left out the bacon. So, it was in the spirit of the Amish meatloaf, if not exactly to the letter. It was very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great and easy recipe! I have made it many times and have always had success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My husband is the meatloaf lover in our family, the kids and I not so much. But, after making this meatloaf, the boys and I were won over and have joined my husband in enjoying meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I really liked this but my husband thought it was to sweet, tried cutting the brown sugar but he still wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I made two, one with the sauce and one w/out. They loved both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My family still talks about how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
OH MY GOSH!!! I love this sooooo much! I moved from PA (Also know as Amish Country) to ND with the military and this recipe is like a loaf of home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaHowett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great I followed review dated oct 22, 2006, and made changes like she stated it was very good, like Mom made...Thanks will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States