Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The topping was good, the addition of bacon ok, just not wowed by the meatloaf itself, not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Fabulous! It's a staple in our house! My only recommendation is to make extra sauce for the kids to dip it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is by far the best meatloaf recipe ever! Makes great sandwiches the next day. Add sliced jalapenos and make the sandwich really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent flavor! Way too much sauce though! I'll cut it in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I used wheat crackers (what I had on hand) and reduced to about 1 1/2 cups -- 21/2 cups of crackers seemed way too much. Sub'd 1/2 lb. pork sausage for part of the ground beef, so didn't put bacon on top. Also added 1 clove crushed garlic and 1 tsp. worshestershire to meat mixture. One of the best meat loaves I've made - which is saying a lot! Yes, with the sauce, this makes a sweet kind of meatloaf, so if you're looking for the brown gravy type this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Thjs was a good basic meatloaf. I would decrease the brown sugar to 2 Tablespoons and I normally use an envelope of Onion soup for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This has become a hit in our house. I sometimes omit the bacon (simply because I don't have it) and it's still fantastic. Done this with venison (+10% beef fat) also, turns out excellent. 1 "small onion" is very subjective... having made it a few times now I have an idea of how much is enough - be careful not to overdo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is the only meatloaf I bother to make anymore, since it's a hands-down favorite every time I serve it, whether at home or at potlucks. I make two changes: Instead of putting bacon strips on top, I add a package (3oz I think) of real bacon bits to the meat mixture before baking. I only make half a recipe of the sauce, and it is still plenty when I bake this meatloaf in a 9x13 pan. Can't beat those Amish when it comes to comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
too sweet. nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRKSMOM
Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Perfect! Ran out of crackers so I used some oats. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States