Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! My in tire family loves it, including my picky eaters. Yhanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe calls and my family was all over me about making it again. One of my boys has autism and he's quite picky about what he eats. He said it was the best he'd ever had. They even ate the leftovers and that never happens. It was perfectly moist and I had minimal grease in the pan. It is very filling! I will make the glaze in half tonight because it was a little too sweet. Yes, I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I doubled the recipe using almost 5lbs of 80% beef, did not double the brown sugar in the meat mixture (I thought it would be too sweet for my family). Used one very large onion (which I would use maybe a small/medium) next time. I used every single slice of a 12 oz. package of Applewood smoked bacon (cooked half way on a cookie sheet in the oven) prior to placing over the 2 very large loaves. Sautéed onions in the bacon grease before adding to meat mixture and placed two slices of bread under the loaves (one on a cookie sheet and the other in a glass 9-1/2x11 baking dish. I doubled every single ingredient (including the brown sugar) for the topping and left just a small amount on the side for extra sauce (which we LOVE) and it was NOT TOO MUCH! It was perfect. I used raw apple cider vinegar as I always use for cooking. I had only 2 sleeves of "buttery crackers" which was not enough so I added some plain crackers that I had on hand (worked out fine). My family from 10 to 56 years old loved this meatloaf. My 15 year old stated that it did not need the bacon, which I agreed BUT it gives it a different flavor (in a good way) WITH THE BACON!! What doesn't taste good with bacon?? Thanks for this recipe, I don't think I'll make it any other way from now on :) Bon Appétit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Best meatloaf recipe ever. If you like sweet, this ones for you! I would really like to see if I can do it sugar free by replacing the brown sugar. Replaced the crackers with bread crumbs and its still delicious. We have made this recipe a few times and changed it slightly every time and its always excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flint Withers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was really good. I did everything as written only I halved the brown sugar in both the loaf and the glaze. It was still pretty sweet, but the right amount of sweetness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet but I do have a comment. This comment is for Jackie2830 and any one else that feels they need to change a recipe. Jackie, quit your crying.....If you are not going to follow the recipe to a tee then quit complaining about it. I use beef/pork/veal, I used one egg instead of two. Tell you what Jackie if you took a in it maybe then it would be to your liking!!!!! FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe even my husband and he's a picky eater. Making again tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Loved it...not boring, not dry, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Oh my goodness!!!! It was so good. The sweetness was amazing!! It did fall apart, but who cares! Would be great for spaghetti sauce, sheppard's pie, sloppy joe, and meatloaf!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I made this using 1# of ground beef. Instead of using buttery crackers, I used 'Alabama Fire Crackers' from AR. The portions of the ingredients were right on. It made a very nice loaf that held together really well. I let it rest for about 15-20 before slicing. Sliced great! The leftovers were wonderful for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States