Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Excellent! I used 1/3 c. sugar & substituted finely chopped carrots instead of pepper. I also used mayo instead of Miracle Whip. A trick for a creamy dressing: seperate the egg yolk from the hard-boiled egg & blend with the mustard until smooth. I recommend French's Sweet & Tangy mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I made this for a picnic yesterday, and everbody loved it! It was sooo good! I took advice from other reviewers and only put 1/2 of the sugar in it, as it was sweet enough with just that ! This one's a keeper. Thanks Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made a few changes to the recipe to suit my family's taste. We have diabetes. I used only 1 cup of miricle whip and 2 heaping tablespoons of sugar. I added a little more pickle. I was out of the celery seed and added more celery. The flavor was wonderful. I will use this recipe often. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
After moving to NC from Pennsylvania I have always missed Amish Macaroni salad. I used to buy it every week! This recipe is EXACTLY what I've been missing and it's so easy! Fantastic recipe... make this right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Tangy dressing that was delicious. The adults had seconds and thirds. I had to make a no onion batch for the little kids. Overall a big hit and still good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This really is good, didn't know if I should try the sugar and vinager but followed the recipe as is, and it was great.. I am makeing it again the Memorial weeking and taking it to pass around at a picnic. Thank you so much for shareing. Oh and I also cut way back on the sugar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This is the only macaroni salad I will make. So easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This was a big hit at a recent barbecue...came out a bit spicy, but not sure why....everyone loved it. I will make this macaroni salad from now on! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Wonderful salad, different than most macaroni salads. It looks as good as it taste. Only one thing you should know, is this salad is rather sweet. You might want to cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This was just delicious, but I altered the recipe a bit adding much less sugar as other recommended. I made a double batch as we had quite a few people coming over for a barbecue. I didn't have any celery, so I upped the celery seed to a little less than a tablespoon. Also, I don't like pickles/relish, so I left that out too. I used a heaping half cup of sugar because I doubled the recipe, but to make a single batch, a quarter cup to maybe a third cup would be plenty. I also added a bit of extra vinegar because I didn't add the relish. Added a green bell pepper as well. It was a huge hit and delicious! Thanks for a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States