Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
It was very good. I only used 2/4 cups of sugar. I am glad I did, it may have been to sweet for me. I added cheese cubes and frozen peas. THIS WAS GREAT!! :) My whole family enjoyed it. I really liked how creamy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
this is a yummy salad. I used whole wheat elbow pasta and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I MADE THIS WITH WHAT I HAD,LEAVING OUT RELISH,CELERY AND RED PEPPER AND IT WAS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING...NICE SWEET SAUCE.WE HAVE A RESTAURANT (AMISH)CALLED DAS DUTCH HAUS AROUND HERE AND THEIR MACARONI SALAD IS THE BEST AND ALTHOUGH THIS ISN'T THEIRS IT'S ~EXTREMELY~ CLOSE!THIS IS DEFINATELY MY NEW MACARONI SALAD FOR ALL GET TOGETHERS AND HAVE NO PROBLEM RECOMMENDING IT.THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING-I JUST LOVE THIS NEW RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
WOW, was this sweet! This is ok, but far too sweet for me. My husband and I liked it combined with other "bland" recipes. I'll probably integrate this recipe with a few others to find a happy medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
less sugar added and also substitute some of the salad dressing with mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
my Husband really likes this one, I used the small shells but it's great, very easy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I've made this several times for family and group functions and many people have raved about it. It is relatively simple to make. I will keep making this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I finally found a recipe that is exactly like the store bought amish macaroni salad. It's wonderful. It also passed the taste test of my mother. That's an accomplishment in itself. Thanks Connie0751
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
What a wonderful, delicious recipe! I reduced the sugar a bit but next time will add even less. I think 1/4 or 1/3 cup will suit my families tastes. I had a hard time putting this recipe together since I found myself out of some ingredients. I subbed one cup of Marzetti's slaw dressing and one cup of Mayo for the Miracle Whip. I also chopped one small dill pickle and added a little pickle juice for the relish. Didn't have celery seed so that was left out. With summer coming up I can see myself making this many times over! Thank you for the post. By the way, for the poster that mentioned the restaurant, Das Dutch Haus in Ohio: I used to live in Pittsburgh and a highlight for us moms was to drive over to shop and eat at Das Dutch Haus. Ah, the memories. I loved the food there! :-) *Update* Made this again and used the salad dressing. Used celery salt instead of salt and celery seed. This is just so yummy! Made again and sprinkled with paprika and black pepper. Outstanding! For those of you that think that this is a little soupy, place in the fridge overnight and the noodles soak up some of the liquid. It is perfect the day after preparing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I used less sugar as some others have suggested and it was delicious! I served it at my son's first birthday party and it was a hit will all ages. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States