Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
mm mm mm looks great! i will be absolutly sure to try this! check out my confetti squares :) thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We liked this, but I found it tasted a little more like a filling for deviled eggs than a pasta salad. We also added 1 cup extra pasta, and it was still just a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is my recipe that I sent in and use when I make mac salad. The only thing is someone changed the way to do the mac. Don't boil it for 8-10 minutes. Get water boiling, put in mac, bring back to a boil, stir, turn off heat. Leave covered for 10 minutes then drain and make salad. That is what the recipe calls to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I was only brought up on tuna mac salad so this was booming with great flavor. Dont change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
As another reviewer said, I don't like macaroni salad. I LOVE this stuff! I followed others' suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and added a 4th egg. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Good recipe but sugar has to be according to taste. I started with 1/4 and kept adding until it tasted right. Next time I will do that same thing with the vinegar, start with 1 tsp. and keep adding from there. Used 4 eggs. The dressing was too much for 2 cups of uncooked macaroni. Good thing I added an extra cup and a handful (for luck). The dressing was enough for all this. Last bit of advice, I made the dressing first, tasted, added eggs, tasted, then added macaroni a bit at a time, looking for the right amount of 'dryness'. My husband loves the Amish macaroni salad from WalMart, this was what I was trying to copy. The final result we compared with a helping of the store made. He says mine was exactly the same, I say mine was a little tangier. He said this recipe was 'better'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
mmm! I used 1 cup mayo instead of miracle whip, added three splashes of dill pickle juice and chopped pickles instead of relish, 1/4 cup sugar, and extra eggs and veggies - I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Pretty good! While I prefer Graden's classic macaroni salad a *touch* better, this was also quite good. This is a very heavy, mayonnaise-laden salad (if you're not a fan, continue your search for a recipe that better suits your tastes). Graden'saversion is lightly dressed and has a less creamy texture (her dressing is a bit runny in comparison). Both salads have a sweet aftertaste that makes them VERY similar. NOTE: As many others have done, I too dressed my salad with HALF of my dressing and saved the rest to add as I saw fit. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 c. and was pleased with the result (3/4 c. sugar would be overkill, IMHO). All in all, I found this to be yummy and a great contribution to the fish fry dinner my hubs and I were invited to. Actually, I have been requested to make this (again) for our upcoming block party next month! Thanks for sharing, Connie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was AMAZING! But for some reason it came out really watery, so I drained it and put it back in the fridge and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Love the recipe except that I needed only 1/4 cup sugar for our tastes. Everything else rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 774) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States