Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This was excellent! I used one box of shell pasta because I dint have elbow, and I had read that some found this soupy. I drained my noodles for 5-10 minutes in the sink while I assembled the sauce. It came out perfect. I served 8 people and had a bit left over for lunch the next day. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Loughrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made it and it was a big hit with everyone! I am a big mayonnaise fan, so was reluctant to use Miracle Whip but I did. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
well....yummy! i havnt made mac salad in prob 15 yrs and was lookin for a refresher...wow!!! i did make a few changes based on pref and what i had in my stock....first thing, which i used to do back in the day....1/2 mayo and half miracle whip...which is prob why the sugar amt wasnt disagreeable. i used chopped green and black olives, reduced the chopped onion a bit and sprinkled chopped green onions in as well. grated a big fatty carrot into it and used two large grated pickles in place of the relish...oh! and didnt have enough elbow mac so added spiral to make up the difference....again, wow!!!! cant wait for my man, who asked me to make some, to get home from work and check it out! pretty convinced he is still gonna think im the best cook on the planet!!! oh!!! and wish i could ship some to my grandson down in mississippi!!! he would go nuts over it!!! def thumbs up from one discerning cook who doesnt even own a recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I had searched high and low for a macaroni salad recipe that I loved. I can make killer potato salad but was having a hard time with macaroni salad. Thank goodness I found this one! I have gotten nothing but raves every time I have made it. I did go with the suggestion of using less sugar because of the sweetness but other than that, it is just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made this for my husband (I don't care for macaroni salad). He liked it but thought that a whole red pepper was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Moved to the top of the list of potato salad recipes. My husband loves the sauce so much he wants me to try it on pasta salad and coleslaw. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a great salad, but I have to agree with others who reviewed this. It would probably be much better, in my opinion, using only 1/4 cup of sugar instead of the 3/4 that it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious and so easy to prepare. We did cut the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup. You can always add more if needed...There's plenty of dressing but I used half and chilled the salad then added more when it was cold. A great recipe, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crawford, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I tasted this as soon as I made it and thought it was really good. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to between 1/8 and 1/4 cup, doubled the amount of macaroni, used four eggs. I didn't measure the vegetables. I just chopped and threw them in the bowl. I am waiting for the salad to chill so we can have some with supper, It makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Loved it!! Best Mac salad recipe I've had. Will be a permanent fixture on my summer menu. Having said that, and after reading the reviews I made just a few slight tweaks. I really don't like too sweet of a salad of any type, so I only added 2 Tbsp. of sugar which was perfect for my buds, and used apple cider vinegar instead of white. I didn't have red pepper, so I used the green pepper that I had on hand. I had plenty of celery but no celery seeds so I put in 4 stalks of celery so their was plenty of flavor, and this worked out well. I also used Best Foods mayonaise, as i am not a miracle whip girl! And this is my preferred brand. I made it tonight, used just over a cup of mayo. I'd imagine I may be adding a bit more in am as the mayo was absorbed by the pasta. I look forward to the next time Ii make it, as i will have the proper called for ingredients on hand and try it just as in recipe except for the called for amount of sugar. Thank you Connie for such a delicious treat!!! Best recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States