Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I thought this recipe was delicious! i read a lot of the recipes and was leary about how to make the dressing, many commented on the amount of sugar and too much dressing made. I decided to just stick with the recipe and loved it! I realize it is pretty sweet, but that is what I was expecting when looking for an amish macaroni salad recipe. I didn't think it was too sweet, and I thought the dressing was the perfect amount, because the noodles tend to dry up and soak in the dressing overnight. I recommend following the recipe, if you don't like a sweet macaroni salad, then don't make an amish mac salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SONGBIRD2020
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Oh yes! This is just the taste I was craving! I had no relish so I chopped up a few baby dills. I used red onion, and I added a bit of black pepper. In an attempt to make a somewhat healthier version, I also made the following substitutions: -I used Stevia sweetener instead of sugar, equivalent to 1/2 cup sugar -I replaced the Miracle Whip with 1 part canola oil mayo, 2 parts plain nonfat Greek yogurt, and a splash of lime juice -I replaced the traditional elbow macaroni with veggie radiatori, used a 12 oz package -I used 4 eggs, but replaced half of the yolks with avocado It's good now. I know it will be GREAT tomorrow! I can hardly wait...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used mayo instead of Miracle Whip and only used 1/2 cup sugar. It was perfect! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Amazing flavor. My husband told me he would eat the entire recipe (doubled) before we get to our Easter party. I used half whole wheat elbows and half rotini. I cut the sugar to a smidge less than 1/2 cup. I used Kraft mayonnaise, since what is suggested has no place in our life. I was rather generous with the celery seed, vinegar, and relish--heaping the spoons but not going absolutely overboard. I would love to make this a few times a month and eat it for lunch for an entire week. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I should've read the other reviews first too. Way too sweet, I'll try less sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Way too sweet. Also soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. I added 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The best macaroni salad ever! My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was amazing. I left out the egg and celery but otherwise made it the same. Can't say enough about it. Love it, even with the raw onion. Just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very good base recipe for any salad. However, I would limit the amount of sugar up to 1/4 cup. For my liking, 1/4 cup is the max limit that I can possibly add sugar (I can even do without sugar at all). I would even limit to 1/8 cup next time. The level of sweetness with 1/4 cup was similar to the KFC coleslaw. So it was pretty sweet, but not too sweet. You can add whatever the chopped veggies as you like; I used olives since I had no dill pickles relish. Added chopped cucumbers and carrots for color. Will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States