Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
One of the best macaroni salads. I'm glad I read the reviews. I used less sugar and also used some mayo along with miracle whip. Really good. I also used minced onion instead of fresh. My family doesn't like onions. I used different colored peppers so it looked pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My husband and I love Amish macaroni salad and I was a little apprehensive in attempting to make this but OMW!!! No more store bought for us. This recipe is wonderful and nothing less than five stars. So appreciate it being shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It's good, but I'm going to use 1/4 cup less sugar next time. It was a tad bit too sweet, but a good, easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This makes a lot if you're like us and it's just the two of you you'll want to half the recipe. It made more sauce than I needed so I boiled up & diced a potato - makes a decent potato salad as well. Also I could see this sauce on a vegetable platter for dipping. I am glad I read the reviews. Like most here I reduced the sugar. {You can always add more but you can't take it out} I used 1/4 cup sugar and still a bit sweet for me. I'll do 1/8 next time and it'll be perfect. I also shredded a carrot for additional color, I didn't have yellow mustard so I used Spicy Brown mustard. I used Malt Vinegar not white, and I ran out of Miracle Whip so it was 1 cup MW and 1 cup mayonnaise. And like everyone I added an extra egg. I love this recipe because it's flexible. Next time I might throw in some thawed frozen peas, maybe diced ham or some tuna. Smoked Paprika maybe? This recipee accommodates a lot of variety, be creative or just clean out the fidge of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Absolutely love this macaroni salad! I followed the recipe for the most part and only changed a couple of things...I used about 1/4 cup of bread & butter relish with the juice instead of the dill relish and used a total of 6 boiled eggs. It turned out perfect for us! I get rave reviews whenever I take this to a family get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very good. It will be added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is amazing. I did use an extra Egg and cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. I did not use onion, celery, relish or celery seed (didn't have these items). I only used the red pepper, did add a dash of garlic powder and onion powder. I used a whole box of shells by accident, and it was not soupy at all, almost a bit dry. Took it on a 4 day camping trip and every day the salad got better and creamier. Took the leftovers to work and everyone begged for the recipe. In fact today was day 6 and I'm finishing it off.. It's better today than any other day. (yes I eat leftovers for 1 week and no i never get sick, even with mayo based salads).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Oh my GOODNESS, this is delicious! I followed it almost exactly except for using mayo (didn't have Miracle Whip) and reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. It's creamy & sweet, as it's supposed to be, but with a slight tang from the mustard & vinegar, and the vegetables give it a wonderful crunch. Best macaroni salad I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I thought this recipe was delicious! i read a lot of the recipes and was leary about how to make the dressing, many commented on the amount of sugar and too much dressing made. I decided to just stick with the recipe and loved it! I realize it is pretty sweet, but that is what I was expecting when looking for an amish macaroni salad recipe. I didn't think it was too sweet, and I thought the dressing was the perfect amount, because the noodles tend to dry up and soak in the dressing overnight. I recommend following the recipe, if you don't like a sweet macaroni salad, then don't make an amish mac salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SONGBIRD2020
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Oh yes! This is just the taste I was craving! I had no relish so I chopped up a few baby dills. I used red onion, and I added a bit of black pepper. In an attempt to make a somewhat healthier version, I also made the following substitutions: -I used Stevia sweetener instead of sugar, equivalent to 1/2 cup sugar -I replaced the Miracle Whip with 1 part canola oil mayo, 2 parts plain nonfat Greek yogurt, and a splash of lime juice -I replaced the traditional elbow macaroni with veggie radiatori, used a 12 oz package -I used 4 eggs, but replaced half of the yolks with avocado It's good now. I know it will be GREAT tomorrow! I can hardly wait...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States