Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This macaroni salad is delicious! I altered the recipe slightly by substituting a cucumber for the red bell pepper. I doubled the hard-cooked eggs and added about 1/2 cup to 1 cup extra macaroni (so it wasn't quite so saucy). I also reduced the sugar by about 1/2. I have used Splenda and gluten-free macaroni, too, and it always turns out great. It always tastes best by making it the day before. The celery seed really adds to the salad. It has always been a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made as listed, lessening sugar to 1/2 Cup and Dressing to 1 cup(2/3 Hellmans & 1/3 Miracle Whip), Mustard(2 Tbls Yellow & 1Tbls Honey Dijon). Good to the last bite. Make exactly as recipe states and then tweak if necessary for your tastes. SUPER SALAD !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain1200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
taste great! when i finished mixing everything together it looked WEIRD but after letting it sit in the fridge after a hour it didn't look as watery and it tasted so good. my husband loved the pieces of boiled egg in the salad. i didn't have the relish or re bell peppers but i will try it with those ingredients next time. Can't wait to make it for a party, i know they'll love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
The amount of sugar called for by the original recipe is perplexing. The first time I made it I cut the sugar in half and found it nearly inedible; it was far, far too sweet for my family's tastes. I've made it several times since, replacing the dressing with real mayo, adding a bit of celery salt, using cider vinegar instead of white and eliminating the sugar completely. My family absolutely loves this recipe with these changes. It may seem like far too much dressing when first made, but the macaroni absorbs most of this by the second day. Cutting back the dressing makes it less "soupy" the first day but a bit dry for left-overs. It's delicious on day one but far better on the second day in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I usually do fries with burgers, but this time wanted something different. Went searching and found this. Read ingredients and just went with my own eyeball measurements, omitting some ingredients and adding others. What a wonderful alternative to the same old hamburger dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a great salad. I used mayo instead of miracle whip, since that was what I had. I cut down sugar to 1/2 cup and did use a cut up pickle as the relish. My family thought it made the 'keeper' recipes! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
mm mm mm looks great! i will be absolutly sure to try this! check out my confetti squares :) thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We liked this, but I found it tasted a little more like a filling for deviled eggs than a pasta salad. We also added 1 cup extra pasta, and it was still just a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is my recipe that I sent in and use when I make mac salad. The only thing is someone changed the way to do the mac. Don't boil it for 8-10 minutes. Get water boiling, put in mac, bring back to a boil, stir, turn off heat. Leave covered for 10 minutes then drain and make salad. That is what the recipe calls to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I was only brought up on tuna mac salad so this was booming with great flavor. Dont change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 810) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States