Amish Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
these are like latkes I make for Hannuka and serve with smoked salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I don't often rush to write a review right away, but this recipe is worth it! Delightfully brown and crisp. Beware, they will go quickly! I tweaked a little; I did not peel the potatoes, and I added some garlic powder and some pepper, and cut the added oil by one tablespoon. This is already in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
A variation I tried was to use sweet potatoes for for half of the shredded potato. Excellent both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These are the True Amish hash browns. Always figured McDonalds got their recipe of hash browns from this old one. They're excellent because of the corn meal, which adds PLUS vitamins! After 30 plus years of making these, they are still VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Really yummy they had a nice texture. The only hard part is shredding the potatoes. I will definitely be making this for the family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
greatly flavored
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These were delish, leave out the 1/3 cup of oil to the mixture, you are already cooking it in oil, no need for all that extra fat. Make sure it's a small onion you are using, I pureed a bit of the mixture just so it would bind better. This recipe is going to added to our Sunday brunch recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolce Cuoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was a good starter recipe for me. I changed the method some and squeezed the potato shreds dry to get a LOT of the water out. Helped tremendously! I also cut the recipe down to suit 2-3 people. I did not use anywhere near as much oil or onion and added some garlic powder to give more flavor punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
delicious they are wonderful but more heavier then other hash browns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very tasty, next time though I won't add any oil to pan to fry them as turned out a bit too greasy but nothing patting them with paper towels couldn't "fix". I shredded the onion on the same box shredder I did the potatoes on and worked perfectly. Did make 1/2 the recipe as written and the other 1/2 with some additions, both ways were very good. Will be saving this recipe and making again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States