Amish Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
We wanted a new potato recipe for our Christmas Day Brunch that didn't include cheese. We live close to the Amish in Ohio and know that there cooking is excellent so I tried this recipe. We called them potato pancakes as that is what thy looked like. They were AWESOME! Everyone loved them. I made them at home and kept them warm in the oven before we traveled. Then, kept them warm in my relatives oven before serving. The only difference is they lose their crispiness by being in the oven which is fine for some. I like them crunchy right out of the pan! Also, I was in a hurry and forgot to add the onions. Nobody seemed to miss them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hellooutthere
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These are more like Onion Ring Patties then hash browns. If you like onion rings, you will love these! They may not be the best choice for breakfast though. Turn your heat to medium rather than medium high, or you will burn them to a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This Recipe was quite tasty...I used onion powder instead of fresh onion and I also had fried up bacon to go along with the Hash Browns and used some of the bacon grease with some oil...would make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I also used red potoatoes, like another reviewer and left the skins on. I put them through my food processer to shred them, along with the onion. I did cut the recipe in half, and added 1/2 tsp. dried dill weed, and 1/2 tsp. of dried parsley flakes, and also a ran a couple of cloves of garlic through the processor with the potatoes and onions. I used peanut oil to fry them in, instead of regular veg. oil. My husband really liked them, and I thought they were very good also, although they do tend to be on the greasy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I loved these and since the recipe called for more than my family could eat I made some on a cookie sheet and froze them then later put them in a freezer bag and can pull out however many hashbrown patties I want/need for my family they work excellent this way, cant even tell they have been frozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are actually called 'potato cakes' or 'bleanies' in my area, but we don't use cornmeal or baking powder (they are much better without those 2 ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
5 out of 5 with my changes-- I used only one egg, lots of Mrs. Dash, no oil, and broiled 5 minutes per side. (I lined my broiler pan with foil, sprayed PAM right underneath when placing the raw potato cakes and again when I flipped them and they didn't stick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These are great. We loved them and as long as you follow the instructions you should not have any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green_Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Tried these today. Mixture was fairly wet & sloppy but they stayed together well in the pan and didn't break up when you try to turn them. tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States