Amish Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very tasty, next time though I won't add any oil to pan to fry them as turned out a bit too greasy but nothing patting them with paper towels couldn't "fix". I shredded the onion on the same box shredder I did the potatoes on and worked perfectly. Did make 1/2 the recipe as written and the other 1/2 with some additions, both ways were very good. Will be saving this recipe and making again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
5 out of 5 with my changes-- I used only one egg, lots of Mrs. Dash, no oil, and broiled 5 minutes per side. (I lined my broiler pan with foil, sprayed PAM right underneath when placing the raw potato cakes and again when I flipped them and they didn't stick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was a great recipe, very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These were Great! I made them this morning and didn't take but 10 min to prep. I also didn't have any cornmeal to i didn't add that or the baking powder. Oh and I added 1/2 tsp of onion powder since I don't like onions but love the flavor. Turned out to be the perfect amount. Will be making these again in the future :) happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These are great. We loved them and as long as you follow the instructions you should not have any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green_Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
did not use baking powder and they were very good. the cornmeal adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Should be called potatoe pancakes: Mine didnt turn out nothing like the pic. My potatoes were shredded to a bit finer bcuz I didnt use a shredder. One could not taste the potatoes at all. You could smell it while baking but that's about it. The flour, cornmeal, and egg overpowered the potatoes -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yum-oH! I followed the ingredients with the exception of corn meal (added extra flour) and used egg-replacer instead of real eggs. Kids LOVED them. Not a healthy food by any stretch of the imagination however I feel smidge better giving the kids these instead of McDonalds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I loved these and since the recipe called for more than my family could eat I made some on a cookie sheet and froze them then later put them in a freezer bag and can pull out however many hashbrown patties I want/need for my family they work excellent this way, cant even tell they have been frozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Awesome. Can't add anything else. They are greasy, so be forewarned; they are addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States