Amish Friendship Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I used half applesauce and half oil instead of all oil. I split the batter in half. Then in one batter I added Andes Candy mint chocolate bars crushed up about 1/2 cup of the candy. If you can find andes candy mint chips that works well also. In the other batter I added 2 tblsps. of chunky peanut butter and 1/2 cup of Reeses peanut butter chips. The breads came out wonderful and both tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debmac39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
came out like a think, dense, fudgy brownie crossed with a moist gourmet chocolate cake without frosting. i made it in a bundt pan, and used Jell-O Brand Chocolate Fudge pudding mix. also used applesauce instead of oil, and subbed half the flour with whole-wheat flour. i also added finely chopped zucchini - you cant even see it in there AT ALL! nobody knew i put wheat, applesauce, or zucchini in it - they thought it was the BEST chocolate cake they have ever tasted! oh, i also sprinkled chopped walnuts on top of the mix once i put it in the bundt pan and pressed them down some, so when it came out there were nuts on the bottom of the cake. i also left out the vanilla on accident - whoops! still the best ever - i will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
My family loved this! My husband doesn't usually eat bread like this. He ate half the loaf before going to bed. I added half a bag of milk chocolate chips and baked for 5 extra minutes. I am waiting for my starter dough to be ready for another round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made this recipe and was utterly unimpressed. In fact, I was disappointed...it was dry, didn't taste like much of anything, and it got dark before the suggested time. I had high hopes for it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good!! I always add a teaspoon of cinnamon into the flour mix, as well as one cup of frozen chocolate chips just before baking for an extra punch of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This recipe turned out great. I did four mini loaves, which took about 50 minutes (do not fill your container more than half full! this stuff puffs right up). My pudding package sizes were a bit different; I used 3.9 oz of Instant Chocolate and 1.34 oz of Instant Sugar-Free Vanilla, since that's the closest I could get with what I had! Then added 2 T. of cocoa powder, after reading all the reviewers wishing for more chocolate flavor. The only other thing I did different was coat the pan with cinnamon/sugar, kuz I love cinnamon flavored chocolate. The taste was awesome, wonderful texture; will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is really good. I only gave it 4 stars because I modified it. First,I mixed 1/3 cup cocoa powder and 1 tsp cinnamon with the dry ingredients. Next, I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of a whole cup of oil. Last, I folded in a 12 ounce bag of semi sweet chocolate chips. I made one loaf and 12 muffins. The muffins baked for 20 mins and the loaf baked for 60 mins. They both came out perfect! I can't wait to try other variations on the Amish Friendship starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
My favourite kind of Amish bread! People thought it was cake but it tastes good so it didn't matter. I added some golden raisins to the bread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I added chocolate chips one time, and Andes Crème de Menthe Baking Chips the next - excellent! A recipe you can keep experimenting with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was my 1st experience w/ the Friendship Bread starter and this is a great recipe. Not quite chocolaty enough for me so will add cocoa next time. I did add craisins & chocolate chips and they were nicely distributed through out instead of sinking to the bottom. Overall 4.5 ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Crogan Snipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States