Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I got a starter from my niece a few years back and we loved it!  And so did everyone I gave the baked bread to.  I just recently heard that you can freeze your starter in plastic ware or bags and the day after it thaws out, count that as your day 1.  Think I'll try that this time.  If you eat one piece of this bread you are guaranteed to want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This starter is excellent and very forgiving. I forgot to stir it one day and on the tenth day I wasn't ready to make any bread, so I fed it and let it sit until the next day. I froze some of the starter because I have no one to give any to. We'll see how it copes with that when I make another batch of friendship bread tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Otter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I was given the starter by a parent at my school. I have made the bread every 10 days since May! I am always searching for someone to take the three starters from me. I have found that if you make two batches of batter for Friendship Bread which makes four loaves of bread (using 1 cup starter each batch) and give a loaf of bread away with the starter and recipe, most people are happy to take it! That leaves one starter and two loaves of bread to enjoy! I also use the gallon ziploc method to mash daily and feed the starter. I put the date for day 6 with instructions to feed it 1 cup each of milk, flour, and sugar. I also put the date for day 10 with direcitons to feed it with 1 1/2 cups each milk, flour, and sugar as well as make the bread on the bag. A reminder NOT to refrigerate and mash daily is also helpful. I use 1 small box of sugar free vanilla pudding and use only skim milk when I made my bread. I have omitted dusting the loaf pans with cinnamon sugar and just use PAM spray to also reduce sugar. I can't wait to try using whole wheat flour, Splenda, applesauce to make it healthier! Gotta go! Two loaves of Friendship Bread ready to take out of the oven! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Pine Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Deleon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Sourdough starter is new to me. I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. I followed the directions exactly but by the 10th day it was really noxious and frothy. I guess that's how it's supposed to be but I was worried I had ruined my starter because it's been so hot this summer. It seemed outrageous to use something that had been sitting around so long with milk in it. I made bread with it and the bread turned out okay but it wasn't great. It might not have been the starters fault on the recipe I had tried. I'll try something again in a few days after I've fed my new pet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Excellent, when it's time to bake I added nuts and craisins, my family loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Excellent!! Thank you! I used to make this when I was a kid & am so happy to have the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I like to try to be health conscious and lower calorie. I used whole wheat flour, Splenda (generic brand), and fat free milk throughout. Also, when baking day came I used those things and rather than using the oil, I used applesauce and sugar free/fat free instant vanilla pudding. Someone may have already said this but I just though I would add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Hi DEB - The recipie is correct as it reads (and delicious). The ingredient list notes that flour and sugar are 3 cups divided. When you read the instructions you use 1 cup of each on day 1, day 5 and day 10. Note this recipie is just the starter - you then need to use your favorite Amish Bread Recipie on day 10. Hope this clarifies the question you were asking DEB. Ask again if this is confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
So then what part of this starter recipe do we go by? The listed ingredients that say 3cups each of flour/milk/sugar or the directions that states 1 cup flour/milk/sugar? Please let me know. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't add the yeast, just the sugar, milk and flour and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States