Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I just made my first loaves of this bread and it was gone in a flash. My future daughter-in-law sent it to me as a Christmas gift. I see that it can be frozen, my questions is does it matter when you freeze the starter? I was thinking of popping one in to freeze for later use on day one? Also you can add things to it like nuts, chocolate chips etc..before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I loved the recipe! Had no problem getting it done the first time. I have one 1 cup of the starter remaining which I froze. I want to keepon making starters but am not sure if I can used the frozen cup I have to keep on making starters instead of using it for baking. Please let me know, anybody. Thanks, yeyi1922
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
One of my fave starts. My family loves this bread. My son will pick up a whole loaf and take a bite out of it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules1966

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this to use on Paula Deans Cinnamon Rolls and of course some amish friendship bread. Turned out great. Had fun doing the whole process for the first time also. Thanks from KY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this years ago, now I am making it again, I loved making it with Pistacheo nuts an pudding. It is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I have made it to day number 10! So Iam ready to bake and get to sharing :) I haven't decided which variation I'm going to bake; but I'm leaning to cinnamon....YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is the perfect starter and very easy to accomplish. I was once given a starter from a friend but never made extra or kept it going. After making the bread, I wished I had because it's so good (especially with coffee). Finding this recipe was a big deal and it's 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Something went wrong and Im not sure what. I had the bubbles during the 10 days however when I made my first loafs, they turned out hard as a rock! Someone please help if you have suggestions. Tried the cinnamon bread. I have had Amish bread made by someone else so I know its very yummy... Just not sure where I went wrong! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I lost my starter awhile back and was very happy to get my starter recipe back. I love this bread and want to try a pumpkin version by adding a cup of pumpkin! Thanks again! Happy again in Oregon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Have done this with a number of friends. Had it going for quite a while. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States