Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I got my starter from a friend but have been 'keeping' it for about six years. It is really not that difficult. If it is fed every 3-4 days 1/2 - 1 cup of each, flour sugar, milk it will keep active. If you have too much just put it in the freezer until ready to bake again. It will come back to 'life' in a couple of hours, feed it and get ready to bake again :-). I keep mine in a 2 quart pitcher. I love it for many cake and muffin recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I got this recipe from a friend 2 years ago. Loved it, but stopped making the bread and didn't have the starter part of the recipe. Now I can make it for the grandkids (and me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I have tried this recipe and lost it ---now that winter is upon us will make again --good stuff --thanks a bunch--my whole family will thank you --at thanksgiving---and my Sunday School members will thank you --I bake for them each Sunday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I love making this! And so does my best friend. Everyone else loves to eat it, but they 'can't be bothered' with the 10 days... If you freeze it, it keeps very well. Just remember where you are in the 10 days, and pick up where you left off! So, so, so yummy! You can also use a flavored pudding when baking to change the taste, but using the vanilla is the best, in my opinion. Banana is a close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is the easiest thing to do. If, at the end, you have noone to give the starters to, do them all yourself and freeze the loaves. If the bag doesn't bubble everyday, no biggie. just squish and mush anyway. It will be fine. I live amongst the Amish and I can tell you they don't measure carefully or worry about how many bubbles were in the bag. Just relax and enjoy! BTW, i chop up apples in mine. With the cinnamon... it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This starter batter was going well. I have active yeast for the sour dough, and the right ingredients to add to make it a Thanksgiving Pumpkin bread (pumpkin puree, spices, and nuts). So, I realize that I was getting carried away as I added the 1 cup pumpkin puree on the 5th day (NOT the 10th day = BAKING DAY)! You are wondering if the batter went rancid? Nope. All set on Day 10, I added a second 1 cup of pumpkin puree, not too much spices, 4 tbsp of oil, 2 cups of flour, 2 medium eggs. Just so you know, the batter is quite gum-like. I cooked mine at a lower-temp for longer to make sure it was completely cooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My husband and I love it when we receive a bag of Amish Friendship Bread starter, the bread always tastes so good when we finally get to bake it! Problem is we didn't have any starter and had been wanting to make it again for some time. Luckily I happened upon this recipe for the starter. It turned out great and I was able to introduce 2 friends to this process who had never heard of it! I am going to try what another reviewer said, freeze the extra bags and when I am ready for another round just go through the 10 day process without adding to until its time to bake! When I am on my last bag of starter I can do the 10 days as normal to recoup the extras in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by at0519
Home Town: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Can this be make with a milk substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Kurzweg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
There's a pancake recipe that needs this! It's SOO Y U M M Y!! :o ;))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I am so thankful to find this recipe. I have been making this for a while (following my own recipe) and haven't made it in the past couple years. :( I lost my recipe and was saddened. This bread is amazing!!! I also keep mine in a gallon size zip-lock bag, and "burp" the bag when the air accumulates. This is by far the greatest gift you could ever give someone, and tastes amazing to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States