Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The starter was easy to do but the bread just didnt work very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this starter and baked the bread, but I didn't see where it said not to use metal containers or utensils when making this. The bread turned out okay but it was a little dry and overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I use a variety of pudding flavors. With banana cream, I add walnuts. Pistatio is great and I add almonds and it's very Christmasy. Chocolate pudding and chocolate chips, coconut cream, butterscotch are also good! Even adding more cinnamon and some raisins makes a great breakfast bread. Be creative! this is a great recipe that my family loves! I haven't found anything that doesn't work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
the best I love this bread when i lost my stater bowl to power outig i thaught i would never get to it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I was given a bag of the starter for the amish bread, I made it , it was very good, but I forgot and used a wire wish, did not hurt it at all, I gave 3 bags of starter to friends and they also had great bread, i think the amish just does not want to use metal, and the reason you burp the air out of the bag makes a difference, if you don't it will spoil. i read somewhere on here that you let the air in, it is to let the air or gas out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Perhaps I'm missing something. The recipe looks like a basic quickbread; there is no kneading or rise time, so why the need for yeast? The baking powder and baking soda will provide all the leavening, and continue working long after the yeast have expired in the oven. I can see the starter adding some sourness from the acid produced during fermentation, but you can get this from other means, such as sour cream, buttermilk, even apple cider. Anyway, I received the starter from a friend, fed it properly, it was bubbly and happy and sour+sweet tasting. The baked bread tasted perfectly good, but no hint of the starter in there, and no different from other quick breads I've made. Just a good spice bread. Which would have gotten 4 stars if not for the trouble of keeping the useless starter around. As olga mentions elsewhere in the reviews, a real sourdough starter is much more fun to keep and use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
this is great. i set aside one day for baking. put one starter in the freezer. and make 4 different batches/flavors of bread. that way i don't have to give any away. the plastic bag works, i just let air into it every day. jilljill51
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have been making this bread for years and it is wonderful. My family loves it so much I try to keep the starter going as long as I can. I use it to make pancakes, waffles, biscuits, rolls, cinnamon rolls, cookies...the list goes on. I have found that with a little creativity and paceints you can make just about anything. I also got tired of the gallon sized bag on my counter so I invested in a pretty glass crock. For those of you having problems with bubbles...it might not be warm enough on your counter so try puting it in the oven overnight (my oven is always a little warm inside) ~JUST DON'T TURN IT ON!~ this will keep it free from drafts and the little bit of heat will help it ferment. Just don't forget to take it out in the morning. Happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I gave it 5 stars because I love Amish Friendship Bread, but I have a question. I have a son who can't have milk, so I made a starter with soy milk instead. I saw where people had made the bread with soy milk and it turned out fine, but no one has mentioned making the starter out of it. The problem is that it keeps separating in the bag. Should I throw it out and start over or is it still good? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
when i bake it on the 10th day i always add 1 tsp. of nutmeg...yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States