Amish Friendship Bread Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The chain letter of baked-goods. The end result is yummy, but it's a pain to get it there. Living in a small town, you run out of people to give it to. Is there a quicker way of getting the bread without having to annoy any more families?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I have made this several times and have had great reviews, easy to make and the bag system is by far the easiest way to go and to keep track of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I freeze the starter in one-cup servings all the time. I've been doing it this way for 15 years or longer. When I am ready to use it, I place the frozen one-cup of starter in the refrigerator over night OR microwave it on 50% power to thaw. Then I either make a bread with it right away OR I put it into a plastic bowl on my counter and it bubbles and "cooks" on the countertop just fine. Make sure you only use a wooden spoon to mix. I also only stir mine on day 3 and day 8. I cover the bowl with plastic wrap with just a small breathing hole. Only use plastic or wood utensils. NO METAL. Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
If you freeze a starter, it cannot be used to make more starters after it's unthawed. It can only be used to make the bread. (after unthawing, start at the step in your amish bread recipe where you start adding the ingredients for the bread - the step after separating out the new starters)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia Dupus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
!!GREAT TIP!! Place the servings in 1 gallon bags with the date of Day 1 and Day 10 written on them. That way your friends can mush the mix in the bags with their children rather than having to stir it everyday. and if air gets in there you just open the bag a tiny bit and let the air out. The one gallon bag will be more than enough space for your friends to add the additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy Blondie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
The is my first starter ever and I'm having so much fun with it! I have made almost every sourdough recipe I can get my hands on so far :) Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Yummy, my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I was given this starter to do and the 1st day to add flour, milk, sugar I accidently put an egg in the milk. Will that hurt the recipe? Help !I dont know why I thought I read to put an egg .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This starter has been going around and around my church and office for a while now so I'm glad that I can now take a little break and make it at a later time. I kept making it because I didn't want to lose the starter. I haven't tried freezing the starter, but the bread made with it freezes very well. I'm so thankful for all of the suggestions from other reviews. Next time I'll make it with bananas or apples or maybe even zucchini. All sound yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I love Amish Friendship Bread and was happy to have found this starter recipe. It works with excellant results and is just what I need to start a Friendship Bread circulating to be enjoyed. Follow the directions and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States