Amish Friendship Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Cooking wise, this turned out great. I followed the recipe exact. I was was a little concerned that they might be a little too heavy, as the batter was really thick, but it turned out just fine. I covered both loaves with tinfoil halfway through to prevent the tops from burning. Smelled wonderful. I won't be sampling these myself, as these will be Christmas gifts that I'm freezing until that time, but I'll update when I hear how good they were. This recipe made two regular sized loaves and took me about an hour and twenty minutes to bake fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
i uised bread flour instead of all purpose flour for a lighter loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made my first loaf of Amish Friendship Bread with my first try at a Amish Friendship Starter. I followed a recipe I found here for starter and it's great. I think it will be even better as the starter matures, becomes a little bolder, but I love the soft taste of this bread. I pulled the loaf (I only have one 9x5" pan, so I used an 11x13". Shaped like a cake, but whatever. I'll get a second tomorrow!) and shared a piece with my husband and brother in law. We all had our eyes popping out of our heads. I didn't have vanilla extract and I added a tad more cinnamon, because I love it. Again, it's awesome! And I feel good about experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuvsRecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt with making friendship bread and I decided to use this recipe with my starter that was given by a neighbor. What a wonderfully, delicious cake like bread. I chose to make this in 1 Bundt pan rather than making two loaves. I added just a sprinkling of nutmeg to the batter. Then I sprinkled with confectionary sugar after baking. Baking time in the Bundt pan took 45-50 minutes at the 350 degrees. I set my timer to check with a cake tester 5 minutes earlier to help prevent drying out and over baking. My first slice I tried plain, loved it. The second slice I tried with peanut butter. YUMMY! This bread went perfectly with a cup of coffee. I decided to send a sample slice of this bread and recipe to the people I pass the starter onto. After trying this recipe, I decided to keep a starter for myself and start over, so I can make this bread again and also freezing a starter to use at a later time. For those that don’t have the starter, you can find the recipe for “Amish Friendship Bread Starter” here at All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvsRecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is an absolutely delicious way to use up the starter. Very rich and flavorful cake. I made it as written but leaving out the nuts as the kids aren't crazy about them. My whole family loved this bread/cake, and it's even better after the first day. I made it in a Bundt pan and it took exactly 50 minutes to bake. I'm going to double the cinnamon next time to try it as a spicier bread, but it's delicious as written, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a big hit! I thought two apples was going to be too much but it was great! Perfect blend of cinnamon and not too sweet. I used Granny Smith Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is THE best bread ever. The apples make it utterly delicious! I used 2 tsp of cinnamon and omitted the nuts. I made this for my husband's 96 year old grandmother and she said I had to bring more when we visited - she never asks for anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a great version for friendship bread. I love the apples and cinnamon combination. This recipe also has a lot less sugar than other friendship bread recipes and doesn't require pudding mix, which I rarely have on hand. My family thinks the bread is a real treat. I put one loaf in the freezer while we eat the other one as breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and I got raving remarks for it from my family. A good way of using up my apples too.The only extra thing that i did was, I sprinkled my loaf pan with 2T sugar and 1tsp cinnamon, placed it in mid-lower rack, and baked it for 50-53 minutes. I like the edges to be dark and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Bread was moist and delicious. Not too sweet. I added a streusel topping which my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States