Amish Friendship Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe. I made two changes; I omitted the nuts as my boyfriend is allergic. I also substituted pumpkin puree for the oil. The bread did get brown long before the inside was done; 40 minutes in I turned the temp down to 325 and gave it another 15 minutes to cook it all the way through. The taste is great though, just the right amount of cinnamon and apples. UPDATE: Made this again, using the exact ingredients as the recipe states. I put some in muffin tins and they took about 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I liked the concept of this -- no pudding mix like other Amish bread recipes -- but I found it way too sweet. If I make it again, I'll cut the sugar way back to probably only 1/3 a cup. It was very moist though, and everyone else seemed to gobble it up. The loaves were quite large. I baked them in pyrex pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Awesome recipe added 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice great choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Awesome! Not a recipe I will be tinkering with. Great the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This bread is delicious! I made it just as the recipe stated and it turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe is far better and healthier than the original friendship bread. I substituted some of the white flour for whole wheat and grated the apples and nuts to make them more acceptable to my children. It makes a very moist and delicious breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I obtained some of the starter, and the recipe that the bag came with had instant pudding in it. I don't think the Amish use instant pudding! This sounds good, so I think I will use this instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I adjusted the spices to my liking (nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, ginger) and used pureed apples minus the core but including the peeling which added some fibre and a bit of color. The flavor was great but I found the loaf didn't raise much. I used two pans but probaby could have put all the batter in one pan for a higher loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Great Great Bread, except I had to use 3/4 of my batter just to get the bread tall enough. This recipes needs to be adjusted for that fact. It's never tall enough, unless you use most of your batter on one loaf instead of two. I used applesauce also and threw some mashed bananas in. Very Moist and Yummy!! I reduced temp to 325, to risk browning prematurely, Looks perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States