Amish Friendship Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This recipe is pretty darn good! Used Butterscotch pudding and butterscotch chips...mmm, mmm good! I also did not bake the bread as long and it was perfectly moist, not too dry. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made mine using a lg box of butterscotch pudding, also used all oil as I didn't have the applesauce.....Oh my, was it ever good....right out of the oven!!! A friend gave me the starter and was suppose to cook it on Saturday. But cooked it on Sunday instead and served it up for an Open House, had dusted the greased pans with cinnamon sugar and sprinkled the tops, too. This is SOOOOOO good. The smell of it cooking just filled the house with a wonderful Home Cooking smell. I did not add any fruit or nuts. I am only sorry that it's gone~all eaten! Will have to wait for about another week, till my starter is ready again for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I've tried several date bread recipes without a lot of luck until I found this one--it's very moist & by far the best one I've made. I plan on trying it with other add-ins such as dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
A pretty good bread. Got a starter from a neighbor recently and this is close to the recipe that came with it. My family really liked it. I made one with chocolate pudding and one with vanilla pudding. I added raisins to one of the vanilla and dried cherries to one of the chocolate loaves. I didn't think there was much chocolate flavor using the chocolate pudding. I had some black bananas and wondered if I could use the starter for banana bread. My recipe called for 1 cup of oil so I used 1/2 cup oil, 3 or 4 bananas and no pudding, and added 1/2 tea. nutmeg. The banana flavor came through well but not the spices. If I do that again I will add a bit more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Wonderful recipe! The bread comes out tasty and super moist. I put 2 loaves in the freezer a few weeks back and took them out the other day for company. They defrosted fine and were just as moist as when I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used 2 grated granny smith apples instead of the nuts and raisins. Added cinnamon too. Made an unbelievably moist cake that was a hit at my church sale! made 6 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was excellent. Baked one in a pyrex loaf pan and one in a metal loaf pan and the pyrex loaf cooked faster and looked nicer, as the top was a more golden brown. Any which way, it was excellent. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I love the whole concept of the bread. I didnt use the nuts, dates, and rasins. But I added cappachino powder and some strong brewed cofee it tasted so yummy. I cant wait to experiment some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELMA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This was my first try at Amish Friendship bread. I used the starter found on this site. Bread came out great. I used a cup of applesauce instead of going half and half with the oil, used Splenda in place of the sugar, and sugar-free vanilla pudding. Even with the lightening up, it came out very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I was given some starter by a friend, and the recipe she gave with the instructions was almost identical to this one. I couldn't find a 5 oz box of pudding and just used the regular 3 oz size. This is really much more like a coffee cake in loaf form than a "bread". It's half gone only a couple of hours out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States