Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I think this is a great recipe. However like many others, I have noone else who will take a starter. I too have made the bread without adding on day 10. I didn't want any more starters. Another recipe that I intend to try is the 30 day cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lynn, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! My friend gave me this recipe, along with a loaf of bread and a starter. Hers included a box of pudding, flavor of choice, and she uses 2 teaspoons cinnamon. My whole family loves it! With all the endless possibilities that can be added to this such as nuts, baking chips, fruit, some veggies like carrots or zuchini, I was always have a starter in process and/or in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I hate to burst bubbles, but after several cycles of making this recipe, I got suspicious of what the starter was actually adding to the mix. So I just completed two loafs: one with 1/2 c. starter and one exactly the same without the starter. the breads came out virtually the same!!!! I was hoping the starter would add a tang or ? but there was no taste difference and we actually preferred the texture without the starter, it was a bit moister?!? So I'm afraid I will omit the starter in the future....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
842 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I substituted 1/2 c brown sugar for 1/2 cup of white sugar and added 1/2 cup butterscotch chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I just recently recieved this as a gift. I love the recipe!! Mine also calls for a large 5.1 box of vanilla or chocolat pudding. I have found out a few ways to make this more healthy. I use only skim milk, an egg substitute, and since mine calls for pudding I use fat free no sugar added vanilla. You can't taste the difference. I also like to make them into "cupcakes" or muffins, this makes it easier to eat just one serving at a time. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made the following changes and won two prizes: Baked in a 9x13 pan for 35 min. at 325, added 3/4 cup oil instead of 2/3, 1/2 cup of milk or 1/2 and 1/2, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and a large 5 oz box of vanilla pudding (added to the dry ingredients) I substitute 2 teaspoons of maple flavoring for the vanilla sometimes and if you like maple, wow is that good! Won a prize at work for this and at the State Fair for a variation! Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe could use some revamping.It wasn't quite the bang i was expecting.I upped the cinnamon by 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 c. applesauce and cut the oil to 1/2 c. to reduce some fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXwildchild

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I tried the new seasonal pumpkin pudding for some yummy pumpkin bread. I added cinnamon sugar to the pan first though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a really good cake - it's nothing like bread. The yeast gives it a definite zing that makes people wonder what's in it. I added 1 cup sultanas and changed the sugar to 3/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar. The quantity here works well in a high sided 8" square pan - it's good to have a taller cake as it seems to stay more moist. When I did this I put the whole mixture in one pan and it baked in about 1 hr. Lower the temperature to about 335F to prevent burning on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The smell oh the smell is so good smells like home! Also, on day 10 I had only 1 cup of white sugar in the house and per the recommendation of several websites I substituted Brown Sugar in equal ammounts. man it was even better! Going to add pecans and raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States