Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So, so good. I took it out of the oven around the 40 min. mark and it was perfect. If anything, it is a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Great gift idea! I ran out of white sugar once on day 6 and substituted dark brown sugar. HIGHLY recommend it! Added tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have made this bread for years and love it. I add a little allspice and nutmeg to the recipe. Also I freeze any leftover starters that I don't give away. That way, it I have a taste for the bread, I always have a starter waiting for me in the freezer. Also, the fresh baked bread make wonderful gifts, especially to new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
A friend gave me the starter and I am loving it. Unfortunately, I do not have enough people to give the starters to at the end of 10 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My family LOVES it......Hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. I took some advice from other reviews and cut the baking time to 35min and 345 degrees. It still seems a little dry but good. Definetly a little heavier than some breads. Next time I will probably add bananas or something to give it a little more moisture. I took it to work and it was gone! Good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I think the 30 servings is way to many but the bread itself was yummy. More like a cake than a bread and definately not too cinnamony. I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was so nice and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmitchell80
Home Town: Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I had not had any of this bread since the early 90's,till a friend gave me a starter recently. The bread was just as I remembered--delicious!! My family always liked it cooked with a can of pie filling so that's what they asked for this time. I made 9 loaves using all of the starter except 1 cup. 3 were apple and pecan sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, 3 were cherry and the last 3 were something I hadn't tried before-peach. I don't know what was better, the bread or sharing the day with my granddaughter cooking the loaves. She took 1 of each flavor home with her. What a great day we had making new memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I have been making amish bread for years. I tried this recipe and it turned out terrible. First of all it calls for twice as much flour as my old recipe and 1 less egg. I guess with 2 cups of flour instead of 1 it made this so heavy. I promise if you will change this recipe to 1 cup self rising flour, add 1 more egg, 1/3 cup more oil and increase cinnamon and vanilla to 2 tsp., also add 1 small box of vanilla pudding - you will get rave reviews. I will add my recipe to this catagory for all to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States