Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
For all the babysitting you have to do for Amish bread, I did not think it was that great. I actually did not like the after taste of the starter. But I do prefer this recipe over the recipe with pudding added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I think this is a great recipe. However like many others, I have noone else who will take a starter. I too have made the bread without adding on day 10. I didn't want any more starters. Another recipe that I intend to try is the 30 day cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lynn, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! My friend gave me this recipe, along with a loaf of bread and a starter. Hers included a box of pudding, flavor of choice, and she uses 2 teaspoons cinnamon. My whole family loves it! With all the endless possibilities that can be added to this such as nuts, baking chips, fruit, some veggies like carrots or zuchini, I was always have a starter in process and/or in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I hate to burst bubbles, but after several cycles of making this recipe, I got suspicious of what the starter was actually adding to the mix. So I just completed two loafs: one with 1/2 c. starter and one exactly the same without the starter. the breads came out virtually the same!!!! I was hoping the starter would add a tang or ? but there was no taste difference and we actually preferred the texture without the starter, it was a bit moister?!? So I'm afraid I will omit the starter in the future....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
844 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I substituted 1/2 c brown sugar for 1/2 cup of white sugar and added 1/2 cup butterscotch chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I just recently recieved this as a gift. I love the recipe!! Mine also calls for a large 5.1 box of vanilla or chocolat pudding. I have found out a few ways to make this more healthy. I use only skim milk, an egg substitute, and since mine calls for pudding I use fat free no sugar added vanilla. You can't taste the difference. I also like to make them into "cupcakes" or muffins, this makes it easier to eat just one serving at a time. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made the following changes and won two prizes: Baked in a 9x13 pan for 35 min. at 325, added 3/4 cup oil instead of 2/3, 1/2 cup of milk or 1/2 and 1/2, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and a large 5 oz box of vanilla pudding (added to the dry ingredients) I substitute 2 teaspoons of maple flavoring for the vanilla sometimes and if you like maple, wow is that good! Won a prize at work for this and at the State Fair for a variation! Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe could use some revamping.It wasn't quite the bang i was expecting.I upped the cinnamon by 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 c. applesauce and cut the oil to 1/2 c. to reduce some fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXwildchild

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I tried the new seasonal pumpkin pudding for some yummy pumpkin bread. I added cinnamon sugar to the pan first though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a really good cake - it's nothing like bread. The yeast gives it a definite zing that makes people wonder what's in it. I added 1 cup sultanas and changed the sugar to 3/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar. The quantity here works well in a high sided 8" square pan - it's good to have a taller cake as it seems to stay more moist. When I did this I put the whole mixture in one pan and it baked in about 1 hr. Lower the temperature to about 335F to prevent burning on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States