Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I substituted 1/2 c brown sugar for 1/2 cup of white sugar and added 1/2 cup butterscotch chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I just recently recieved this as a gift. I love the recipe!! Mine also calls for a large 5.1 box of vanilla or chocolat pudding. I have found out a few ways to make this more healthy. I use only skim milk, an egg substitute, and since mine calls for pudding I use fat free no sugar added vanilla. You can't taste the difference. I also like to make them into "cupcakes" or muffins, this makes it easier to eat just one serving at a time. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made the following changes and won two prizes: Baked in a 9x13 pan for 35 min. at 325, added 3/4 cup oil instead of 2/3, 1/2 cup of milk or 1/2 and 1/2, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and a large 5 oz box of vanilla pudding (added to the dry ingredients) I substitute 2 teaspoons of maple flavoring for the vanilla sometimes and if you like maple, wow is that good! Won a prize at work for this and at the State Fair for a variation! Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe could use some revamping.It wasn't quite the bang i was expecting.I upped the cinnamon by 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 c. applesauce and cut the oil to 1/2 c. to reduce some fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXwildchild

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I tried the new seasonal pumpkin pudding for some yummy pumpkin bread. I added cinnamon sugar to the pan first though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a really good cake - it's nothing like bread. The yeast gives it a definite zing that makes people wonder what's in it. I added 1 cup sultanas and changed the sugar to 3/4 c brown sugar and 1/4 c white sugar. The quantity here works well in a high sided 8" square pan - it's good to have a taller cake as it seems to stay more moist. When I did this I put the whole mixture in one pan and it baked in about 1 hr. Lower the temperature to about 335F to prevent burning on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The smell oh the smell is so good smells like home! Also, on day 10 I had only 1 cup of white sugar in the house and per the recommendation of several websites I substituted Brown Sugar in equal ammounts. man it was even better! Going to add pecans and raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was ok. Not the best bread I ever had. The baking time was not long enough so it was very brown on the outside and runny in the middle. Also it's very salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So, so good. I took it out of the oven around the 40 min. mark and it was perfect. If anything, it is a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States