Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I made this bread using the starter, which turned out okay, except I didn't see that it said not to use metal utensils. I don't know if that's what made this taste different than other Amish breads I've had before, but it tasted dry and overdone after it was baked. I will definitely make friendship bread again, but I probably will alter this recipe a bit and I surely won't bake it as long as this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It wasn't anything to write home about. I think I've gotten spoiled with the bannana breads & pumpkin breads that I've been baking so this was pretty blah to me. I baked for 55 minutes & it was too done on the bottom. Wondered if an 8 oz container of sour cream would make this more moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was good, but it's more like cake than bread. Should be called "Amish Friendship Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This bread was amazing! I would rather call it a cake because that's what it tastes like. I swear I will make this bread one day, and just 2 days later, it will all be gone. Everyone in my house loves it, especially my little brother!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I have a Q. I have a recipe that is almost identical but does not call for baking soda, just baking powder. Will this screw it up? Thanks for any help I am baking it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
It is very moist and crumbly. It has a coffee cake like texture. I put walnuts in the batter and it was very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This recipe is very dry. I believe it should have "milk" added to the list of ingredients or baking time should be shortened. The pudding recipe that I have seems to be better with the milk added. Next time I try this one, I'll add the milk to see if it is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Ok, it works and it's tasty, but its also kind of a rip off. I mean, with this friendship bread we spend all this time nurturing a yeast sponge but at the end we put in a whole mess of baking powder/soda... it makes you wonder why we need the starter in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe is great! Much better than the one I was given. I make it healthy by substituting 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup rolled oats for the 2 cups of white flour. I substitute all of the oil for unsweetened apple sauce and then bake in muffin tins at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. My whole family loves it and it's good for you (shhh don't tell).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great! My husband loved it ... somehow 1st time I baked it I forgot to add the vanilla - still tasted great, Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Afton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States