Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I don't know what I did, but this did not turn out. The top of the bread and the edges all ended up burnt. I've never had problems with my oven running hot. I substituted 1/2 c wheat flour like someone suggested on here and it just made the bread so heavy. I was very disappointed. This wasn't at all like what my mom made when I was little. I think I'll try it again next time with all white flour and pudding mix, like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is great bread, but I'm not a fat/oil person. Anything I can do to cut the fat. So, I used 1/4 c oil and 2/3 c applesauce, two eggs, 1 c flour, and 1 large package of instant pudding mix. Can do vanilla, banana flavor, etc. all the other ingredients worked well and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My recipe was too dry, so I checked online for other recipes and found that most suggest adding 1 cup of oil and 1/2 c. milk to the the bread ingredients on Day 10 (baking day). This provides a moister bread. I also strongly suggest adding the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My recipe for this has 1 box 6 0z instant vanilla pudding added. Try that for all of you who had dry bread. The pudding adds moisture. And for those who've never made this, it is a quick break texture like banana bread, not a sandwich bread. It's more like a coffee cake. I also sprinkle the top of mine with a cinnamon and sugar mixture before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Loved it. Saved some starter in the freezer for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made my share of the bread from a starter that I was given; however it doesn't look anything "breadlike" as shown in the picture. Mine turns out looking more like the texture of bannana bread. Do I need to add more yeast perhaps? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I wish I could rate this higher. The baking time was way too high, unfortunately; the bread rose and then rapidly deflated, and the "crust" was exceptionally hard. I'll decrease the temperature and/or baking time, next time. The flavor wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was my first time making this recipe and I did not care for it. It was on the dry side and didn't have much flavor. I had a friend make Amish bread once and hers was very moist and the flavor was great. I don't think I'll try making Amish Friendship bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Very very good. One of the best breakfast breads you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This bread was good, could use alittle extra moisture. I used herman starter and dried currents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitch

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States