Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I don't know what I did, but this did not turn out. The top of the bread and the edges all ended up burnt. I've never had problems with my oven running hot. I substituted 1/2 c wheat flour like someone suggested on here and it just made the bread so heavy. I was very disappointed. This wasn't at all like what my mom made when I was little. I think I'll try it again next time with all white flour and pudding mix, like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is great bread, but I'm not a fat/oil person. Anything I can do to cut the fat. So, I used 1/4 c oil and 2/3 c applesauce, two eggs, 1 c flour, and 1 large package of instant pudding mix. Can do vanilla, banana flavor, etc. all the other ingredients worked well and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My recipe was too dry, so I checked online for other recipes and found that most suggest adding 1 cup of oil and 1/2 c. milk to the the bread ingredients on Day 10 (baking day). This provides a moister bread. I also strongly suggest adding the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My recipe for this has 1 box 6 0z instant vanilla pudding added. Try that for all of you who had dry bread. The pudding adds moisture. And for those who've never made this, it is a quick break texture like banana bread, not a sandwich bread. It's more like a coffee cake. I also sprinkle the top of mine with a cinnamon and sugar mixture before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Loved it. Saved some starter in the freezer for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I have made my share of the bread from a starter that I was given; however it doesn't look anything "breadlike" as shown in the picture. Mine turns out looking more like the texture of bannana bread. Do I need to add more yeast perhaps? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I wish I could rate this higher. The baking time was way too high, unfortunately; the bread rose and then rapidly deflated, and the "crust" was exceptionally hard. I'll decrease the temperature and/or baking time, next time. The flavor wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was my first time making this recipe and I did not care for it. It was on the dry side and didn't have much flavor. I had a friend make Amish bread once and hers was very moist and the flavor was great. I don't think I'll try making Amish Friendship bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Very very good. One of the best breakfast breads you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This bread was good, could use alittle extra moisture. I used herman starter and dried currents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitch

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States