Amish Friendship Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I add canned peaches with the juice and roll the dough with cinnamon and sugar. . .it makes the bread taste like peach pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I used this recipe as a base for a healthier, whole wheat bread. I used two cups whole wheat flour instead of white, substituted 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup oil for the 2/3 cup oil, and upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp. I also added 1 chopped granny smith apple and 1 cup nut/dried fruit mix.I replaced half of the sugar with Splenda and baked in mini loaf pans for 40 minutes. Delicious and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My boss gave me a list of his variations. In each one, he adds a box of pudding mix (whatever flavor you choose). It makes the bread very moist, and it stays moist for days. Our favorites include: add 1 cup of craisins (dried cranberries), 1 cup of walnuts, and 1 box of vanilla pudding. Another includes: 1 smashed banana, 1 cup of walnuts, and 1 box of banana cream pudding. Yet another is 1 cup white chocolate chips, 1 cup macadamia nuts (chopped), and 1 box of white chocolate pudding. YUM!!! These are always big hits, and are great for the holidays! I'll warn you though, you may think you've done something wrong when you mix these in on day 10, because the batter is more the consistancy of cake batter than of bread dough, but it's OK, it bakes up just like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
731 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
It's good for a plain recipe, buut personally, I like all of the add-ins (raisins, nuts, etc). It dries out quickly so be sure to eat it as soon as it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is one of the best recipes I have had to share with friends. It is amazing how it can bring neighbors together. I bake thing each year and have the 12 days of Christmas to a different neighbor each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Pulled this bread out of the oven about an hour ago and already one loaf if gone!Family loves it. I sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar on top, it helped. I only cooked 45 minutes, this was maybe even a tad too long. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Just ok. It's still just sitting on the counter, no one has gobbled it up yet. It's missing a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I was a bit unhappy with the overall taste of this recipe. I had it in two 9 X 5 loaf pans, and at 40 minutes, it was very done. If I make it again, I will use a tad bit more cinnamon and maybe a bit more sugar. It was just very flat tasting. After spending 10 days on the starter, I had been looking forward to something more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I really like this recipe. I mix dry and wet ingredients seperately and then together. The only problem I have with this one was that myself and my husband couldn't finish both of the loaves together. So now the day after I bake it, I send him to work with one loaf to share. It's a big hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
After 10 days of babying my starter I couldnt have been more let down. I expected alot better. It tasted like any other boring ol' loaf, I added apples and thank god I did. Its pretty bland, I thought the starter would add an interesting flavor but nope. The texture is course, maybe it was me but it gave no real mixing instructions. I will try the pudding recipes in hope for better results since Im stuck with all this leftover batter. I dont want to give it away along with a recipe that I didnt like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States