Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
A mix between a sugar cookie and a butter cookie, kind of crumbly but not too much. Not the greatest thing to look at but sure beats ALL the sugar cookie recipes I have made from this site.Tastes somewhat like Mantecaditos a yummy cookie from PR. I will try shaping them like mantecaditos and adding non pareils on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Understaed taste, good tecture, not really fancy enough for company. But great for kids! Really liked this - and I refrigerated half the dough for 2 days, and it was fine, and I got tons of cookies out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Typical Midwest flavor - Bland. Adding flavoring will really help and lets you make a big tray of multiple cookies for one dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These were good, but not spectacular. They were very easy, my 7 year old girl made them "herself", and she loved them. To me they seem as if they are missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I love these! I've made them several times and each time I made ome modification. One time I added 1 cup chocolate rice. The other time I use 3 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa, 1/4 cup vanilla flavoured malt and 1/4 tapioca flour instead of 4 1/2 cup flour. The texture is still the same and the taste improved a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I added lemon zest (1 tsp or more to taste) to half the batter, sprinkled sugar on top before baking. Added 1/4 tsp almond extract plus the sugar to the last half, really added to the flavor. I've never had any trouble getting rid of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burns, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Hmmm...well, they're ok with coffee or tea but I found them kinda bland. Puffy and soft...yes. Lacks taste tho when eaten alone. I WILL make these again for the sole reason that my girlfriend loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
These are very good, very easy. These are more tender-crumbly, not a chewy style cookie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marji

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boothbay Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Aptos, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
These cookies are just wonderful! A little different than regular sugar cookies and better tasting. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I found these cookies very greasy and absolutely terrible. Not even my kids like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States