Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have baked these cookies alot since i found it and i enjoy making them but my family enjoys eating them. I even made cut outs with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Crisp, lighter than shortbread cookies. Great with add ons (spices, choc. chips, jam...) A huge hit at my house! Best hot out of the oven but good for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Parrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These cookies were delicious. They were very light and fluffy from the powdered sugar, and not at all greasy like I expected from the 1 C. vegetable oil. I rolled the cookies in cinnamon-sugar prior to baking, and also added an extra 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the dough. The cookies hardened after a day or so, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themerrymaid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I make these all the time and there are never any left! One thing I do to help 'sweeten' them up is roll them in sugar mixed with cinnamon to make snicker-doodles. They are excellent this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I have been baking forever and do this for a living...Not very good at all my kids would not even eat them!!!I made them to take to a school play for a cast party needless to say they were just horrible!!!I am from Wisconsin and they taste nothing like amish cookies!!! very BLAH!!!Will not make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I've made these cookies a lot for my school (i'm a kindergarten teacher) and it's really good and very easy to make. But i've always taken a fork dipped in sugar to flatten them a bit, and give them a nice shape, then i put sprinkles on them (depending on the season, the colors change). My students love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Schott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Felipe De Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Did not like at all. All I could taste was flour. My gram said they tasted greasy. Not a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
tried this recipe tonight, and they came out wonderful, for a soft sugar cookie, not greasy...I also rolled half of them in cinnamon and sugar before baking and they make a killer snickerdoodle!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
My kids love these!!!!! Very easy pantry recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
A mix between a sugar cookie and a butter cookie, kind of crumbly but not too much. Not the greatest thing to look at but sure beats ALL the sugar cookie recipes I have made from this site.Tastes somewhat like Mantecaditos a yummy cookie from PR. I will try shaping them like mantecaditos and adding non pareils on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States