Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My mom started making these cookies around Christmas time 40+ years ago. I now make them every year and have been for 22 years. They are so delicious, melt in your mouth and very pretty too with different colored sugar on them. Truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written except I added 1 cup of skor toffee bits, and the dough was a bit crumbly so I rolled it into 1 inch balls and flattened slightly. They tasted buttery a little like shortbread, and not too sweet. Perfect anytime cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Have made this for years and am always being asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by girl's best friend
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was sooo good. I came home and they were gone... in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girl's best friend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought these were pretty good. They taste like a combination of a sugar cookie and a shortbread cookie. I made a 1/2 recipe to try them out and it made plenty, over 30 cookies. For some reason they don't taste as good the next day as fresh, and break easy, so I would consider that when calculating how much to make. I used salted butter as I always do, although it didn't specify. I am glad I did because a few people said they felt the cookies were missing salt. I baked them on parchment paper instead of the greased sheet and scooped them with a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop. I thought they looked just like the Allrecipes photo for the recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Though this cookie looked pretty and held its shape through the baking process, I did not find the taste or texture likable. Perhaps it was the confectioner's sugar and oil as those were the things I tasted. After baking one batch I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla looking for flavor but that didn't remedy the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I was SO prepared to give these a lacklustre review. "Unadorned," they are flat tasting and not sweet enough. My suggestions were to be to add more vanilla, upped at least to a tsp., a little salt, maybe a 1/2 tsp., to make the flavors come alive, and maybe even a little more sugar. They are tender and soft, with the characteristic light texture I've come to know that the combination of powdered sugar, oil and cream of tartar provide. I was going to be generous and give them three stars - but as is I really didn't think they were even THAT good. But then I frosted them. What a difference a little sweetness made, especially creamy, buttery sweetness! In fact, I would say this cookie is not only better frosted, it is the *perfect* cookie to frost! For the same reasons I had ambivalent feelings about them before they were frosted, are why I loved this cookie frosted, tho' I still would add a litte salt. In addition to these being the perfect "utensil" for "Butter Icing for Cookies," also from this site, they are simply gorgeous as well. The dough is quite soft (almost greasy, actually) so I chilled it for an hour or so before shaping it into cookies. I used a medium cookie scoop and flattened them slightly before baking. Perfectly shaped when they went into the oven, they were perfectly shaped when they came out of the oven as well. With spring fever in full tow, after frosting I sprinkled them with pastel sugars. These are just awesome 5-star good - WITH the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Simply divine. These are probably one of the best sugar cookies I've ever made. Wonderful texture, so crisp and light. I used unsalted butter and therefore added some salt (1/2 tsp.) and they came out just perfect. I rolled them into balls and baked them until lightly brown on the bottom. As soon as I took them out of the oven, I flattened them out slightly with the back of my spatula. This gave them a nice crackled look. They don't need frosting, but I frosted them with "Butter Frosting" from this site and the combination is, like I said before, simply divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great cookie recipe! Reminds me of pecan sandies w/out the pecans. My mother stopped by & said these were the best cookies. She doesn't even care for cookies. I had to use butter flavored Crisco b/c I didn't have any butter. It still turned out great though! My mother & I will both be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Amazing and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOPSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States