Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought these were pretty good. They taste like a combination of a sugar cookie and a shortbread cookie. I made a 1/2 recipe to try them out and it made plenty, over 30 cookies. For some reason they don't taste as good the next day as fresh, and break easy, so I would consider that when calculating how much to make. I used salted butter as I always do, although it didn't specify. I am glad I did because a few people said they felt the cookies were missing salt. I baked them on parchment paper instead of the greased sheet and scooped them with a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop. I thought they looked just like the Allrecipes photo for the recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Though this cookie looked pretty and held its shape through the baking process, I did not find the taste or texture likable. Perhaps it was the confectioner's sugar and oil as those were the things I tasted. After baking one batch I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla looking for flavor but that didn't remedy the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I was SO prepared to give these a lacklustre review. "Unadorned," they are flat tasting and not sweet enough. My suggestions were to be to add more vanilla, upped at least to a tsp., a little salt, maybe a 1/2 tsp., to make the flavors come alive, and maybe even a little more sugar. They are tender and soft, with the characteristic light texture I've come to know that the combination of powdered sugar, oil and cream of tartar provide. I was going to be generous and give them three stars - but as is I really didn't think they were even THAT good. But then I frosted them. What a difference a little sweetness made, especially creamy, buttery sweetness! In fact, I would say this cookie is not only better frosted, it is the *perfect* cookie to frost! For the same reasons I had ambivalent feelings about them before they were frosted, are why I loved this cookie frosted, tho' I still would add a litte salt. In addition to these being the perfect "utensil" for "Butter Icing for Cookies," also from this site, they are simply gorgeous as well. The dough is quite soft (almost greasy, actually) so I chilled it for an hour or so before shaping it into cookies. I used a medium cookie scoop and flattened them slightly before baking. Perfectly shaped when they went into the oven, they were perfectly shaped when they came out of the oven as well. With spring fever in full tow, after frosting I sprinkled them with pastel sugars. These are just awesome 5-star good - WITH the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Simply divine. These are probably one of the best sugar cookies I've ever made. Wonderful texture, so crisp and light. I used unsalted butter and therefore added some salt (1/2 tsp.) and they came out just perfect. I rolled them into balls and baked them until lightly brown on the bottom. As soon as I took them out of the oven, I flattened them out slightly with the back of my spatula. This gave them a nice crackled look. They don't need frosting, but I frosted them with "Butter Frosting" from this site and the combination is, like I said before, simply divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great cookie recipe! Reminds me of pecan sandies w/out the pecans. My mother stopped by & said these were the best cookies. She doesn't even care for cookies. I had to use butter flavored Crisco b/c I didn't have any butter. It still turned out great though! My mother & I will both be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Amazing and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOPSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is kind of a mix between a shortbread cookie and a sugar cookie. It is now perhaps my favorite cookie. Amazing! I made it with whole wheat flour, and it was still wonderful. I use whole wheat with everything though, so I'm used to the flavor. I will use white flour when making for other people. I didn't have cream of tartar, so I substituted 3 times as much vinegar as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel N Alta Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Added dark chocolate kisses to the center of the cookie, they are delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elissa Workman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are delicious and they're a new family favorite. They are like a cross between a sugar cookie and a shortbread cookie. VERY simple to make. VERY easy to dress up! I stuck a chocolate covered caramel candy in the center of each cookie in one batch and they were delicious. I frosted another batch and they were delicious as well. Plain, they are perfect too! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Everyone who has tried these has enjoyed them. They do not have any exciting elements, but it you just want a "plain" cookie this recipe is great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States