Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
My family really enjoys these. I do prefer a more buttery flavor in my sugar cookies so I increased the butter and decreased amount of oil. Halfed the recipe so I used 2 sticks of butter and 1/4 cup oil. Frosted these too with a buttercream frosting, they are delicious frosted. Similar to our favorite cookie cutout recipe without the mess of rolling and cutting the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very good with frosting. Easy. Makes 44 cookies using medium scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
These were just ok for me! I loved the texture of them a bit to oily for me but you can defiently taste the butter im going to make these again an reduce the oil a bit overal a good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this recipe on a whim. I had purchased some Lemon 'Chips' and was looking for a simple sugar/shortbread kind of cookie to which they would they would be a perfect addition. This recipe was Perfect! I did not have any Cream of Tartar on hand, and substituted in Baking Powder. They turned out just fine. The somewhat blandness of the recipe allowed the Lemon 'Chips' to give a nice burst of flavour as you bit into the cookie. This recipe is going in my "Make again" File. It is simple, and makes a large batch - perfect for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I loved this recipe! I didn't have enough confectioners sugar so I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, regular sugar and the confectioners sugar I had. They were excellent. Even better when I dipped them in choclolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dayton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Holy Awesomeness!!! Tastes a lot like a butter cookie, nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Loved this recipe! Only requires ingredients I usually have on hand. Sweet but not too sweet. Delicious. Highly recommend! My cook time was only 7 minutes so watch the cookies when baking for signs of browning on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
such a wonderful cookie, easy to make, almost full proof. i topped them with homemade icing, ........... 2 cups confectioners' sugar 3 1/2 tablespoons gingerbread coffee creamer 4 tablespoons butter.. 1.In a saucepan, over medium heat, heat coffee creamer and butter until butter is melted. Stir in the confectioners' sugar. Remove from heat, and beat with an electric mixer until thick and smooth. pipe into a bag and top the cookies. if it thickens up just put the bag into the microwave for 10 seconds.( remove the metal decorating tip first lol ) and I used Parchment paper on my cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have been using allrecipes since its beginning and this is my favorite recipe of all times. This is the best cookie recipe I have ever used. This cookie is a hit at Christmas for family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BarefootMom
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Awesome Cookie recipe! I did adjust the oil to 3/4 cup because 1 cup of oil and 2 sticks of butter seemed like a lot! They turned out great. I went ahead and drizzled chocolate on top and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States