Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very good! simple and good! Everyone I made them for liked them. On some of them I added some little round sprinkles. Also, I didn't have cream of tartar, so in its place, I added the same amount of lemon juice. You did NOT taste the lemon at all and it worked just fine! I've made these 100x by now and still I have to say everyone loves these!!! They are so simple in taste, yet so good! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I needed something sweet for a late night craving - these were at the top of the cookie page and looked easy. It seemed like a lot of fats in the recipe (2 cups!) but it did say it made 5 dozen. I made a half of a recipe - I should have listened to my intuition - they were very greasy. I love spritz, which have tons of butter, but these were just overkill. If I made them again (doubtful) I bet I could cut the fats in half easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wonderful easy and delicious been making these so many years this recipe was goiven to me in Northwest Wisconsin ,God's Country.. can roll in cinnmaon & sugar or flatten slightly and make an indent with thumb then fill with favorite jam or make as written I always use real butter makes a huge difference they melt in your mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
blah..nothing special...missing something and too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I think these were rather bland. I ended up adding some white chocolate chips to half of them and that seemed to make them better. I won't make these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
these cookies are freakin amazing! at first, we were unsure of what cream of tartar was, but we used the wonderful invention called the internet, and found out lots of useful tips and tricks. These cookies were also a lot of fun for me and my girls to make. we played games and such while we were putting the dough on the pan. These cookies just may possibly be the best thing ever, besides the ice on my neck, but cookies rock! and make sure you find out what cream of tartar is! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These cookies are tasty but the picture is very misleading. They do not come out looking anything like the picture. The picture makes them look like they would be a chewy cookie but they aren't at all they are more like a shortbread type of cookie. I actually made two batches of the dough because I thought maybe I did something wrong the first time. Very frustrating. The family loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made a few adaptations to these cookies. I used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup oil, mostly because I had never used oil in cookie before and was nervous. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice to the dough. I rolled my cookies in cinnamon sugar before baking. I liked that these cookies were light, not too sweet and not too rich. My husband wasn't a fan, but I ate these cookies six at a time! Which means I probably won't be making them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandyce78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Added a dash or two of pumpkin pie spice and rolled into balls and coated with cinnamon and sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States