Amish Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I think these were rather bland. I ended up adding some white chocolate chips to half of them and that seemed to make them better. I won't make these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
these cookies are freakin amazing! at first, we were unsure of what cream of tartar was, but we used the wonderful invention called the internet, and found out lots of useful tips and tricks. These cookies were also a lot of fun for me and my girls to make. we played games and such while we were putting the dough on the pan. These cookies just may possibly be the best thing ever, besides the ice on my neck, but cookies rock! and make sure you find out what cream of tartar is! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These cookies are tasty but the picture is very misleading. They do not come out looking anything like the picture. The picture makes them look like they would be a chewy cookie but they aren't at all they are more like a shortbread type of cookie. I actually made two batches of the dough because I thought maybe I did something wrong the first time. Very frustrating. The family loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I made a few adaptations to these cookies. I used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup oil, mostly because I had never used oil in cookie before and was nervous. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice to the dough. I rolled my cookies in cinnamon sugar before baking. I liked that these cookies were light, not too sweet and not too rich. My husband wasn't a fan, but I ate these cookies six at a time! Which means I probably won't be making them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandyce78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Added a dash or two of pumpkin pie spice and rolled into balls and coated with cinnamon and sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is an amazing "sugar cookie" recipe! I'm not proud of it, but I'm a huge cookie dough eater and this one is SO good. It stays soft enough to scoop after refrigeration, making it perfect to cook a quick batch, or eat a spoonful! hehe. And it always gets tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I've been baking these cookies for years. They have never failed me. My recipe includes 1 tsp of salt, although I use only 1/2 tsp. I also press the cookies with a fork and sprinkle with sugar or sugar/cinnamon mix. I replace 1/3 to 1/2 of the sugars with Splenda without affecting the texture. And they're still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have baked these cookies alot since i found it and i enjoy making them but my family enjoys eating them. I even made cut outs with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Crisp, lighter than shortbread cookies. Great with add ons (spices, choc. chips, jam...) A huge hit at my house! Best hot out of the oven but good for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Parrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States