Amish Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
My son and I really liked this recipe, but I made it in a bread pan, instead of a 9x13, because I wanted to slice it like bread. Really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is more the texture of a quick bread than a 'cake' - as other reviewers have said, it doesn't rise and is rather thin and dense. The taste is fine and it certainly is quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Loved, loved this recipie. The only change I made was to cut the sugar back to one cup (the pineapple adds lots of sweetness) and added about a tsp of fresh ginger - really balanced the taste. Added a little salt as a previous reviewer suggested and it rose just fine. One of the best cakes I've ever made - didn't even need icing! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my recipe also calls for 2 cups of sugar, but NO eggs! This recipe has been a hit everytime the cake is served! I have customized my recipe w/a cream cheese icing, also! It's GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought it was very good! For the people that said it didn't rise: you added your baking powder to soon. If you add it too long before you put it in the oven, all the bubbles from the chemical reaction will have already popped, leaving you with a flat cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This worked out beautifully, nice and brown and risen. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This cake came out beautifully - even though I had no eggs, I added 4tbsp butter and 1/4 c. milk instead. I had no trouble with the cake not rising. It was fluffly and moist. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SparkletheXWoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
the recipe i have calls for 2 c. flour 2 c. sugar 2 tsp. baking soda 1 large can of crushed pineapple.. i use a 9 x 9 in. glass baking dish and it comes out just yummy... and i put a cream cheese frosting on top and keep it in the fridge...it is just delicious that way...putting it in a 9 x 13 regular cake pan i find the flavor isn't as good...try it in a glass baking dish and see if that works better for u!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis Burkiewicz
Home Town: Wessington Springs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
We really liked this recipe, it is very moist and tastefull,keep it in the fridge and it seems that the taste is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Assen, Drenthe, Netherlands
Living In: Tynaarlo, Drenthe, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States