Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
As soon as I made this loaf, I knew I had to have more, So I spent the day making amish bread! three loaves later and I love it!! High rising and no splitting. Kids love it with peanut butter and jelly. I like it warm with butter. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This recipe took half the yeast that I would normaly use for my white bread. It has a wonderfully flaky crust, and a good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
What a wonderful, easy bread recipe. I made 4 loafs the first time, each one perfect. Gave two away. What a hit. Try toast or french toast for a real treat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This is the best bread I have had in a long time. I will use this recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This bread was what supermarket white breads strive to be. I was surprised at the softness of the crust. Usually I don't care for the crust of bread machine loaves but this one was awesome! My four year old daughter helped my make this so it is definately kid friendly and my eight year old son asked me to make this again instead of buying supermarket bread. I'd say that says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This bread was a huge hit on Christmas! It was delicious! It has a wonderful sweetness to it, one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
just cut into our loaf from this recipe.. beautiful on the light setting and quite lovely in the crumb. My machine runs two raises and then a proof run so i did not stop it and reset. Used King Aurthur unbleach bread machine flower and corn oil.. no other changes... came out divine. Lots of flavor. If you start out with GOOD flour you get good bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This bread has a really nice flavor! All my usual bread machine recipes call for butter, and since I had none left, I needed a recipe for bread that used oil. This bread has a really nice soft texture. I put mine on the dough cycle, so I could take it out and make dinner rolls. I wouldn't recommend doing this though, because the dough is very sticky, and I ended up adding a lot more flour to make it manageable. In the end though, after the extra kneeding, I had a dozen very delicious rolls! I'm going to try this again today, and let it stay in the machine to bake. Thanks Sherry Ann, for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My bread machine sat unused until I found this recipe. Now my kids tell me to not buy bread at the store anymore. They want me to make this bread. I have also given out loaves to neighbors and those neighbors told other neighbors about how good it was. Great bread recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I was a bit anxious breaking away from my breadmaker's recipe book, but am so glad that I did! This bread couldn't be simpler to make, and it turned out wonderfully! A versatile, tasty white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States