Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was really looking forward to trying this bread, especially since I grew up with Amish folks. My family just wasn't fond of this bread. It came out rather bland and too sweet. It might just be a preference issue. We like Italian and French breads, sour doughs and multigrains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
omg the best bread ever. Thanks to all the other users who said the 1 cup 2 T water. Bread is great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My kids love it. They told me to throw out all my other recipes! I didn't change one thing and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knox City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is amazingly good bread. I made it as written the first time but I wanted a bit denser texture. Next time I tweaked it a bit & it came out perfectly as I'd envisioned. My changes were: used 1/3 c oil instead of 1/4; scant 3 cups bread flour; 1 tsp salt; and upped the sugar by 2 Tbs. (3/8 c instead of 1/4 c). Probably another significant change was I set my bread machine on the RAPID setting (a shorter rise time) & I also used the Large loaf setting (really wasn't sure if this makes a small or large loaf). The texture of this bread came out so incredible! Firm, moist, yet not underdone in the least with a perfect crust. After baking in the machine, I let it set out overnight (I live in a desert climate); then sliced it with my electric knife the next morning & took it in to work. My co-workers had it gobbled up in no time. Fabulous with honey butter & makes wonderful toast as well. I think I'll be making this bread for a long time to come. I hope to get brave & try a loaf in the oven one of these days. Thank you ShooseyQ for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Really simple and wonderful. Even with all the mistakes I know I made being a first time bread maker it turned out great. Next time without the mistakes I'm sure it will be even more better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was the first recipe I've used with my breadmaker -- and it turned out great! I didn't follow the directions in regards to restarting the machine for a second full rising cycle since mine goes through three rise cycles on the setting I used, and it was still super fluffy. I'm going to add a little more sugar next time since my partner likes his bread really sweet, but I wouldn't change a thing otherwise. Some of the best basic white bread I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I had just about given up on my bread machine but this recipe saved it from the pit of bread machine hell! Fantastic taste & texture. I followed this recipe to a T & it came out great! I also made french toast with it the next day & I think it's the best I've ever made! Try the original recipe first & then make any changes to your taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volleygirlie14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I recently purchased a Zojirushi BB-HAC10 Mini Bread Machine and was having problems finding a soft sandwich bread that my husband liked. I tried this one and loved it. I did change the quantity of bread flour to 3 cups after reading a lot of the reviews. I also used Splenda instead of sugar and noticed no difference at all, though I may lower the amount some. Next is to experiment using some whole wheat flour. Hopefully it will turn out as well as the regular recipe. As a side note, I just let my machine run through the regular mode using the firm crust and it did great. My machine has 3 rises, so I wanted to try a loaf without restarting as the recipe called for. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nwilson02

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Theodosia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Just what I was looking for, great taste and consistent product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! I will never buy store bought again. I became so sick of all of the incredients that are in store bought bread, that I don't even know what they are. So I have been makeing my own bread. This is a FANTASTIC recipe. Mush better than anything store bought. I make my loaf on Sunday and I have fresh bread for the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States