Amish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe as directed, but, I did not have to reset the bread machine as the bread machine that I own has two rise cycles. I was skeptical that it would rise enough to make a decent loaf of bread because it looked really wimpy after the first rise cycle. I was totally wrong about how it would turn out; it rose and baked beautifully. The texture is soft and dense without the little pockets of air that I get from baking bread in the machine. The flavor is wonderful. I like that it doesn't have eggs or milk in it either. I am excited to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the bread recipe I have been looking for! A simple 5 ingredient bread that comes out perfect in my little bread machine. I have tried many other recipes, including the one that came with my bread machine, and always get a dry bread. This bread is moist, with a wonderful crust that melts in your mouth. The extra step of resetting your machine to start, giving it an extra rise, really makes this bread a notch above. I set my machine for 1 1/2 lbs, as the recipe states, but actually get a larger loaf. I make a loaf about every other day. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Bread turned out way too sweet and not done all the way. I turned my machine on light crust and 1.5 lb. loaf. I would defiantly put less sugar in the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love to make soups and this is by far the best Potato soup yet. I did substitute 1 of the cups of milk with whipping cream to create a thicker creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have a question about this recipe. I don't have a bread machine. Do you have the original recipe that you converted to bread machine??? I would love to try it, if I can make it "manually"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my son's favorite bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I'm comparing this to the "Best Bread Machine Bread" here on AR, which is why I can't give this Amish Bread recipe 5 stars. This bread tastes great, but has a darker-than-I-prefer crust and was extremely challenging to slice with keeping its shape and is slightly "dough-y". I have always used the other recipe with no-fail results and I'm not sure why I decided to try something different. It was a mistake. I'm not saying this is a bad recipe, but I will stick with the "Best Bread Machine Bread" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is one of the top 3 bread recipes I have made! (and I am constantly experimenting and trying new recipes.). This recipe made a large, pretty loaf and the flavor is perfect. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good rustic bread. Makes for a great grilled cheese sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Not really much taste to this bread. Have made it 3 times now, family is not impressed. Nothing special in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States