America's Favorite Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is my classic recipe for a grilled cheese, I've been having it since I was a kid. Perfect comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amygoes211

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I also have had these since I was a little girl. Was my family the only family that used a "press" back then (and now) by pressing the sandwich, whilst cooking, with the bottom of a pot big enough to cover the sandwich? Comes out nice and flat--like it was cooked with a panini press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is the classic grilled cheese sandwich. I use quite a bit more margarine though. I dip mine in ketchup, the rest of my family loves tomato soup with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I like to pour about two teaspoons of olive oil in a heated skillet. Then quickly place a slice of white bread in the pan and immediately remove to coat one side with oil. Place the second slice of bread in the pan, swirl around by hand to soak up the remainder of the oil, place two slices of American cheese and the first slice of bread on top. Grill about two minutes a side. This is quick, easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Bob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
an all american favorite in my house! i also sometimes add a slice of ham, or turkey breast to my kiddos sandwiches! gives a little extra protein, and they like the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Absolutely the best grilled cheese recipe I have ever cooked. But I did make just a few changes. First off I was thinking cheese was not all it is cracked up to be. I used tuna. I toasted the bread and added the tuna. Then I added cheese on top. I grilled it and it was perfect, Thanks allrecipes. I never would have mastered this recipe without you.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Just wanted to share our version of this American classic: we like to add sliced pickles to ours. Hubby enjoys jalepenos in his. Sometimes, if the mood strikes, I even add a touch of worchestishire sauce to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
The wonderful thing about All Recipes is that it is used by a very diverse group of people. So while this recipe seems very basic and to some even ridiculous, please remember that to a kid just learning to cook this is very valuable. Also, just because we grew up eating these, does not mean that someone in another country did. So remember that there are people here trying to learn new things to make before you go bashing this recipe for being too simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
allrecipes.com caters to all ages. I for one think it's great that they include simple recipes. Kids who are learning to cook come on here and this is a great start for them to use the stove. Obvious to adults, yes. For some kids, no. Plus, the process for them is more fun if they get to print out their own recipe rather than making Mom or Dad's recipe (even if they are the same). I know my niece was very proud to do this yesterday and showed everyone her recipe. Thanks for the recipe AR. Made my niece's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
There are many young people just learning to cook, my daughter being one of them, and I think it is great to put very basic recipes on this site. I think this site is for all levels of cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States