American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This tasted like beans that were too salty and the tomato sauce was a strange mix with the kidney and adobo seasoning. It looks very pretty--just like the picture! But I don't recommend it. Too acidic, too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was really good and very easy. I used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. I also used less than half the amount of adobo. Everything else was exact. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Great Recipe. Easy and fast. It was a little too salty for my tastes so next time I will cut back on the Adobo. But all in all very tasty. Big hit with my father and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This felt like a cross between spaghetti and chili. Pretty good - nothing to knock my socks off but a decent little meal, and something good for when I want a meatless day. I have no Adobo seasoning and made my own. I found a variety of recipes so I just made up an easy combination similar to them, except using less salt. (Even so, salty stuff, but way less than most recipes had.) I made up a batch using 1 T. salt, 1 T. onion powder, 1 T. garlic powder, 1 T. pepper, 1/2 T. oregano and 1 t. chili powder. I've made this twice now, and have made it as is, except for the reduced salt, and also I think 1-2/3 cup rice is plenty. (Side note that for something like this or salad, the beans really should be drained & rinsed, which also reduces the sodium.)(It also does say "American-style" meaning it can be anything it likes. Also not the first time Mexican & Italian has been mixed - even the Adobo has oregano!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was an easy and fairly tasty recipe. Personally I really didn't think it was that wonderful but my husband thought it was awesome! The sauce was very runny so I added cut up cubes of butter to thicken it up. Give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe..I've tried Zatterans from the store but it is too salty..This is perfect. my husband likes it and asks for it frequently..and my kids even like it. Great job LAURENB222!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
really good, but really salty. I used about half the adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALEYANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I didn't have adobe, so skipped that part. I added 1/4 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves chopped garlic. As someone else said, it reminded me of meatless chili. My son, age 15, is a dedicated meat-and-potatoes guy, and even he liked this. Cheap, easy, and everyone will eat it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I usually make red beans and rice with sausage. I did not have any so I tried this recipe. Added a little cumin,and lots of garlic. Everyone loved it. Kids too. Do not add too much water, though, it makes them more creamy as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
was easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States