American-Style Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
delish and so healthy and easy and fast to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Yum! This was Delicious! I did make a few changes :) First off I made my rice separate all i had on hand was yellow rice but worked out perfect! Secondly I diced up an onion and a 1/2 of Bell pepper and a pound of stew meat added those ingredients with the sauce and bean mixture and let it all simmer together for about 45min! Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
A nice alternative to louisiana style beans and rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This tasted like beans that were too salty and the tomato sauce was a strange mix with the kidney and adobo seasoning. It looks very pretty--just like the picture! But I don't recommend it. Too acidic, too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was really good and very easy. I used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. I also used less than half the amount of adobo. Everything else was exact. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Great Recipe. Easy and fast. It was a little too salty for my tastes so next time I will cut back on the Adobo. But all in all very tasty. Big hit with my father and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This felt like a cross between spaghetti and chili. Pretty good - nothing to knock my socks off but a decent little meal, and something good for when I want a meatless day. I have no Adobo seasoning and made my own. I found a variety of recipes so I just made up an easy combination similar to them, except using less salt. (Even so, salty stuff, but way less than most recipes had.) I made up a batch using 1 T. salt, 1 T. onion powder, 1 T. garlic powder, 1 T. pepper, 1/2 T. oregano and 1 t. chili powder. I've made this twice now, and have made it as is, except for the reduced salt, and also I think 1-2/3 cup rice is plenty. (Side note that for something like this or salad, the beans really should be drained & rinsed, which also reduces the sodium.)(It also does say "American-style" meaning it can be anything it likes. Also not the first time Mexican & Italian has been mixed - even the Adobo has oregano!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was an easy and fairly tasty recipe. Personally I really didn't think it was that wonderful but my husband thought it was awesome! The sauce was very runny so I added cut up cubes of butter to thicken it up. Give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe..I've tried Zatterans from the store but it is too salty..This is perfect. my husband likes it and asks for it frequently..and my kids even like it. Great job LAURENB222!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
really good, but really salty. I used about half the adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALEYANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States