American Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This has been a family favorite since I was a kid,but my mother used cream of mushroom soup, and frozen veggies, topped with shredded cheddar cheese. Today I do the,same but I use Fiesta Mexican Mix Cheese for the topping. My family loves it all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Delicious..put my own spin by using chili meat and ground beef. I also used a few boxes of scallop potatoes, left out the celery and thyme, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of veggie soup, cajun seasonings, and extra, extra veggies. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Robinson
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe with a few alterations. I didn't have tomatoe soup,so I used fajita sauce in my meat and veggie mixture. Also I added a can of stewed tomatoes and this dish came out supurb and so full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a great base recipe, easily tweaked to accommodate picky eaters by changing the soup or which vegetables you use. It always goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It was GREAT!! I used Steak chopped up and the kids LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Very easy version of Shepherd's Pie, which is just what I was looking for. I followed the recipe as written, except that I also added some leftover corn and green beans I had in the fridge. It's a good 'cleaning out the fridge' meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
this is one of the best family meals we have had in a while. Can't go wrong with hamburger and mashed potatoes. Mix that with baking and cheese and you have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great tasting and easy recipe!!! I substituted the vegetable soup with cream of mushroom like everyone else suggests, and instead of celery I added corn. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this last night & it was absolutely delicious! Although, I did make it completely different, lol. After browning the hamburger with the onion & celery I added: white beans, creamed corn, stewed tomatos, onion soup mix, green chilis & cream of mushroom soup. I did not use thyme or vegetable soup. I made my own mashed potatos to put on top and mixed some cheese into the potatos instead of topping it with cheese at the end. You really can throw anything you want in there. My boyfriend & I both agreed this was one of the best things I have made in awhile. Don't be afraid to experiment! Oh yeah and salt & pepper to taste (always).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My kids and hubby liked it. I did change a few things. I seasoned the meat to my families liking which included garlic, salt, pepper and a bit of worchestire sauce. I added green peppers with the meat and onions and celery. I used cream of mushroom instead and added a can of corn (drained) everyone liked a great quick meal with some yummy rolls or corn bread make a hearty warm meal for cold rainy Seattle days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States