American Lite Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Saved the day; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I decided to try this since I had 2 heads of cabbage and I don't like cabbage. I used frozen broccoli and cauliflower, lots of garlic and no carrots. Finally I found something to do with cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was a good base recipe and the first time I added cabbage to fried rice so I'm happy to say that it was a great addition; I did not follow the recipe entirely since I had no broccoli, I decided agains putting in the water chestnuts after I opened the can and saw that they were brownish. I skipped the onions too since the kids don't like them. I did use onion powder, fresh garlic, shredded carrot, 3 cups of cabbage, and about 6 slices of bacon which I saved the fat to fry with the rice. (I know not so lite now) I don't like Chinese 5 Spice so I added salt, pepper, and some hot sauce; soy sauce on the side for those who wanted it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Unfortunately this recipe was rather, well, disgusting. There was a strange unpleasant flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
We wound up trying sesame oil and Chinese 5 spice to add some flavor. None turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe is really awesome.The only change I did was to add beef. I marinated stripes of beef in "Easiest Teriyaki Marinade" recipe found also on this site.I sauteed the stripes before rice and garlic.Took the meat out of wok and added after frying the rice.Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This recipe was okay, but I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil to give it a nice flavor. It should have been mentioned that fried rice is made w/ day-old rice, because the texture does not come out authentic at all. It's more like stir-fry mixed with regular rice. Otherwise, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Good recipe but I cut down on the oil by using stock and spraying the wok with cooking spray. Also added a little shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States