American Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is an easy recipe that also tastes great. I add a can of tomato sauce and that seems to make enough sauce for a 9x13 pan, without it is not. I only use 1 tbsp of brown sugar, 2 is too sweet for my taste. I also substitute the ground beef with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
One of the best recipes for lasagna out there. The directions were easy to follow and so much better than using a bottled sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
excellent as written except i use cottage cheese instead of ricotta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobnBird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great recipe although I made several changes to cut the calories from 642/8 or 428/12 down to 325 per 1/12 slice. Cut back the meat to 1 lb and drained fat after saute. Used reduced fat mozzarella and ricotta and used 9 lasagna strips of Dreamfield's lower glycemic index pasta. Flavor from seasonings is great although I also reduced the salt. My entire family raved over this without them ever knowing about the substitutions. I have found that I can still enjoy my favorites without all the fat and calories. I agree about refrigeration one night prior for flavor and keep boiling of noodles to 5-7 min and pat dry. Keeps the lasagna from being runny. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I've made this a few times now, and my fiance and friends absolutely love it. Like others have stated, I always end up needing more sauce then I've made. So i use, Newman's Organic sauce on the top layer. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
***This review is for my VEGETARIAN version*** I made this vegetarian by subbing one 8oz package of Smart Ground protein crumbles for the 1.5 pounds of ground beef. It turned out to be just the right amount of "meat" in my opinion. I used 1.5 onions rather than 1 and doubled the basil, oregano, and garlic. I also added one teaspoon of cayenne pepper which added just the perfect amount of spice. I did NOT think this needed more sauce. This could be because I simmered my sauce at a low temperature and added about a half a cup of water half way through. As others have stated, 9 lasagna noodles was perfect. I covered with foil and baked for an hour, then removed foil and baked for another 20 min. Summary: As lasagnas go, this turned out to be very good! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
really good recipe family loves it... i used rotel instead of diced tomatoes for more of a zing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara H.
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
DELISH!!! I just made this and will be coming back to it again for sure! My husband loves lasagna however I have never made it. He said it was the best lasagna he has ever had and couldn't wait to eat leftovers tomorrow. I only made a few changes. I added a 15oz. can of tomato sauce to stretch the meat sauce a bit more. My husband said that he always wishes that the lasagna he has had in the past had more ricotta cheese so I doubled the ricotta, parmesan, parsley and eggs. It was AWESOME! next time I think I am going to cut the recipe in half except for the ricotta portion and do that as the recipe calls. It made enough lasagna to last us weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Just made this wonderful dish, with 5 alterations, and it was moderately easy and delicious! I used fresh oregano vs dried as I love the taste of fresh herbs to dishes. Added 2 tsp of fennel seeds, as this was a secret that an old Sicilian grandmother taught me for her meat sauce. I than added 8oz canned tomato sauce with 1 c of water to the sauce as the meat sauce simmered because my sauce seemed very thick in consistency. Finally, I tried the pasta that did not need any boiling, just to experiment with it. The end product was, as I wrote, delicious! My family had second helpings..and so will you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Only 2nd time I've made lasagna. (First was from back of Barilla box using bottled sauce.) This one is worth the extra work. Absolutely delicious! Served 7 for New Year's with left-overs. I assembled it day before. BTW - I had enough to make a test 5x7 casserole to enjoy the night before the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States