American Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Best lasagna I've ever made period!!!! I made it in the afternoon & refrigerated till dinner. The only thing I did different was using jarred Barilla Italian sausage sauce. I grated some zucchini & squash & added chopped mushrooms to the meat. Also used Italian seasoning instead of oregano (didn't have it) & added 2 good splashes of red wine before simmering. Next time I'll use less brown sugar it was a tad sweet, but not bad. Also didn't use parm cheese in the ricotta mixture cause I had none but did add some garlic to it. Absolutely delish & will be my go to lasagna recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I love this recipe! Like others have noted it doesn't make quite enough sauce so I added two cans of tomato sauce. And I added a dash of red pepper flakes for an added kick. It's a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
great flavour, a little dry. has a sweet basil taste that is not to over powereing. i used oven ready noddles so i added 1 cup of water to sauce once the sauce had finished simmering and brought the sauce to a quick boil before i began layering. will make again, but i think i'll add another can of paste and maybe a small can of tomatoe sauce. oh and i did not drain the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I have been eating and making lasagne for many years and I have to say this is one of the best recipes I have ever tasted!The consistency was perfect for us. I don't care for "sloppy lasagne", meaning way too much sauce so the noodles float and the whole casserole falls apart when you cut into it. The only change I made was adding some red wine to the sauce, not much, maybe 1/2 cup and adding some basil and increasing the oregano. Reheats well and almost tastes better the next day or even the day after that. EXCELLENT>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My very first time making lasagna and my hubby and picky 3yr old LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothafluff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
it is definitely american lasagna not real ;asagna theres not much cheese. it looks JUST like stouffers lasagna why not just buy that and save the trouble for real italian lasagna which doesnt use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Why would anybody bother boiling noodles anymore when you can buy the oven ready and just layer them with the rest of the ingredients....omit the eggs and the sugar also that's not necessary either, your recipe is extra work for nothing. Strangest recipe I've seen for lasagna. Omit this stuff and it's as Italian as it can get except diced tomatoes should be replaced by sauce. Sorry didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I just gotta comment about the cheese sauce because that's what made this dish a little rich! I suggest that you use a normal cheese sauce like with milk, flour as this one just too rich! Other than the cheese sauce, this is one fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
perfect. This is my go-to lasagna recipe. I make it with ground turkey and a homemade pasta sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is my new favorite lasagna recipe. It was easy and VERY tasty. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States