American Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I've made this both with the sauce as directed (omitting the brown sugar), which turned out great and my own sauce (which I like better). For those who commented on the cook time at the top, it includes the time needed to make the sauce. I usually cook it covered for 35-40 min, add mozzarella and Parmesan and cook uncovered for an additional 10 or so min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Great recipe! I did also add more sauce and baked for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Absolutely the BEST lasagna recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I've been making this lasagna for ten years. I started out making the sauce, but eventually switched to using 4 cups of my own meat sauce, which I usually have in the freezer. I follow the recipe for the rest, sometimes adding a few layers of fresh spinach when I assemble it. My husband and I have a special fondness for this lasagna - I first made it to impress him while we were in college, and now our three young sons gobble it up, too. Thank you, Ethelmertz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
excellent - although it is a LOT of work and money for a lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Javajem
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Great recipe! I added a jar of tomato sauce in addition to the paste and chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
First time making this Lasagna, best I have ever tasted and it wasn't runny! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan4Ever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I have been making Lasagna for 35 years. I am of Italian descent. NEVER have I baked it for 1 1/2 hrs! I assemble my lasagna like it says in this recipe & leave out the last topping of mozzarella for later. I then cover it loosely with foil for 35-40 min, then uncover it and add mozzarella to the top, bake another 10 minutes till the cheese is melted and bubbly. If you bake this for 1 & 1/2 hrs, you are definitely overbaking it!!!! Let it rest for at least 1 hour to let it set into layers before slicing & serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have to say that I am so glad to finally find a lasagna recipe that isn't like eating spaghetti. It can hold its shape and looks beautiful when you cut into. I can use a spatula to get it out of the pan instead of a ladle. There isn't so much sauce that its over powering all that cheese flavor. I make the entire recipe but then cut it in half. I make it in an 11 x 7 baking dish and freeze the remaining. It's done in 30 minutes and tastes excellent left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love this recipe! It was actually the first lasagna recipe I'be ever tried, and I don't want to try another one! I've made it twice- once with ricotta cheese and another time with cottage cheese instead. Both ones were fantastic. I did add more sauce as people have suggested. I also only put in 1 lb of meat. I only had to cook the lasagna for 30 minutes as the recipe says. Then again, I cooked everything before so it was really just in the oven to melt the cheese. I would reccomend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States