American-Italian Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
I'm the original creator of this recipe, Carol Emory. I did not want to star rate my recipe because I feel that would be unfair, however I want to clear up some modifications that were made to the recipe. I actually only use about half a cup of green onion and about 1 and 1/2 cups of petite peas. Italian parsley is best to use when making this (also know as broad leaf parsley.) I add the peas to the pasta in the last 2 minutes of cooking and rinse both to cool before mixing it together. Also, I've found that ranch dressing works best (especially when mixed with 1 cup mayonaise and 1 cup low-fat buttermilk.) The dressing has a better chance of staying creamy when buttermilk is used. And with the portions listed, I would use about a half cup more of dressing and serve the recipe to about 8. Thanks for the reviews everyone. I have more recipes on the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I created this version from everyone's suggestions. This was an awesome recipe. I would definitely make it again. Cook until Al Dente: 1 (16 ounce) package tri-color fusilli pasta 1 package chicken tortellini Mix: 1 bottle ranch/bacon dressing ½ cup mayonaise ½ cup sour cream Combine: Cooked and cooled pasta Sour Cream Dressing Mix 2 (2 ounce) cans sliced black olives 1 cup frozen petite peas, thawed 1 cup Hot pepperoni 3/4 cup chopped celery 3/4 cup chopped green onions 3/4 cup chopped red pepper 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley 1/4 of a small bag Sun dried tomatoes, diced Provolone & Mozzarella cheese, cubed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I liked this recipe and I would definitely make it again-however, next time I will add more mayonnaise as the leftovers were a little dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Honestly, the best creamy pasta salad. Fresh parsley and the dry italian dressing mix are definitely the key ingredients. I used more sour cream and less mayo and it was perfect. Everyone loved it. PS: You definitely need to reserve some dressing and add it when ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
What an awesome summer salad! We had a family of 5 as guests this weekend and I wanted something bulky that could make it 3 days, this was it! I did modify it a bit though: I added chopped plum tomatoes,a small jar of roasted red peppers with a couple tablespoons of the juice, a 6 ounce can of olives I sliced in half, and a bit more of the dry salad mix. Wasn't dry at all - My husband said it's the best pasta salad he's ever had, and the 2 year old came back for more. Great recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I have made this many times since first coming across this recipe in 2001. The only modification I have made is I add cubed cheese as I can never get enough cheese. The last time I made it I could only find sliced salami, so I just cut each piece into fourths. This was by far the best and I will do this going forward. This is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
SOOOO GOOOOD! I was tired of the same old pasta salad with the bottled Italian dressing, and boy was this salad a delicious change! What a wonderfully refreshing and simple dish! Made it in 15 minutes (chopped the veggies and mixed the dressing while the noodles boiled). I used rotele noodles, diced a half a cucumber, half a red bell pepper, and half a carrot. Minced 2 cloves garlic, and coarsley chopped a quarter of an onion (the onion flavor did not overpower the dish). Dressing was 3/4 C mayo, 3/4 C sour cream, 1/4 C milk, and 1 packet dry Italian dressing mix. That's it! I completely forgot to put salami, or pepperoni, but the meat was not missed, even by my extremely carnivorous boyfriend. Now even my vegetarian friends can enjoy the fantastic salad! I believe any combo of veggies will work wonderfully. Just use what's on hand. THANKS CAROL:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
i have made this many times since first finding it. It is a FABULOUS recipe for hot summer night when no one really wants to eat. Even the kids love it ( and they do not like salad for dinner )! I used the Kroger- Private Selections Hard Salami ( I think it is a 16 oz. package way cheaper than the Genoa found in the regular lunch meat section cut into pizza like wedges) and a small bag of frozen baby carrots and a small bag of frozen petite baby peas , thawed and drained ( extras are for the next time) dice the celery don't chop it and add any of your favorite veggies, such as broccoli ( florettes), tomato,diced red pepper diced and red onion diced. Try it, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Good pasta salad to eat during the heat of summer. Make the night before and enjoy for dinner the next day. I didn't change a thing in this recipe. But, I would suggest using tri-colored pasta noodles just to add some color to this mostly green dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
I would not make this again. It was ok. The previous reviewers were right, it was way too dry and needed more milk. I doubled the dressing ingredients and it was still vey dry after being in the fridge. Regardless I did not think it tasted all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States