American Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This was a very good recipe. I had to impravise when it came to the cast iron skillet.. I used a regular skillet and then flipped the ingredients into a pie dish added the cheese and baked about 15-20 minutes at 325 degress. It was a hit with everyone! I have had weight loss surgery and some foods are hard for me to eat this sat very well with me... The only thing I would do different is make the CUBE size of the potatoes SMALL... I did mine med to large because the recipe did not really say! Next time instead of ham I think I might try adding Carne Adavoda (pork cooked in red chili)! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
After reading the other reviews I decided to use only two potatoes and add some cooked broccoli. I also made sure to add plenty of pepper so it wouldn't be too bland, and I used sharp Cheddar cheese. I was very pleased with how it turned out. I slid it out of the frying pan onto a round pizza pan and cut it with a pizza cutter. It was easy enough to make, tasted very good, and since there are only two of us, there's enough left for tomorrow. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This was ok but very bland. I tried to liven it up a bit with 1/2 a green pepper and some garlic powder but it did not really help. I would rather eat eggs, ham and potatoes seperatley. I thought the cooking time was not enough. I had to lengthen it but since pan size was not specified in the recipe that could make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a GREAT "base" frittata using a cast iron skillet...the way it should be done! It very quickly became our "go to" for Sunday morning brunch after we get home from church. We have done this recipe many, many times, trying different combinations of ingredients. We've found that the cooking times are very accurate, but we make sure to test it, not trust it, when pulling it out of the oven. Prep time takes a little bit longer. End to end, it takes us about 45 minutes. This last time we made it was the best...first we cooked Jimmy Dean ground sausage in the skillet. No oil. When cooked, used a slotted spoon to take it out and leave behind the grease. We used the grease instead of the oil, which actually caused the onions to caramelize on the bottom...woah, was that amazing!! We slice the potatoes to cook and then lay them on top of the onions after they have been sautéed. Threw the sausage on top of the potatoes, then poured the eggs on top. Literally - 5 minutes on the stove...no more. Add sliced tomatoes on top before popping them in the oven for everything to finish cooking. Fabulous!! Thank you, Jody!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Used this as a base recipe. Used 4 egg whites, 4 eggs, turkey bacon, garlic, parsley,mushrooms,green onion, spices, cheddar cheese, 5 potatoes. Really tasty, easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I must be out of my mind. I have absolutely no reason to cook tonight as I have leftovers from yesterday's party and the kids are sleeping at friends. However, after over indulging yesterday, I figured that hubby would like something light for dinner and this seemed to hit the spot for him. I added halved grape tomatos and my usual garlic and onion powders. Thank you Jody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
very good-i found that adding some worchestershire sauce to the eggs helped bring out the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made a frittata once before using shredded potato, and it was a disaster. This turned out much better! I used sliced sandwich ham (it needed using up) and I also added some more seasoning. It was pretty tasty. Thanks, Jody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
When sauting the onions, I added some fresh chopped broccoli and some chopped green bell peppers. Very good, easy to make and ohhhh so delicious. Will repeat this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
We enjoyed this recipe very much. We used two large potatoes, monterey jack cheese, bacon, and sausage. Next time we will use more onion and less potatoe. Salt and pepper made it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States