American Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was wonderful, all the breakfast foods in one dish. My family even ate leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was very good. I think it's a very forgiving recipe. I used two pounds of bacon pcs, a small bag of tiny yellow potatoes, half an onion (and probably should have used the whole onion but it was still good but I like more onion flavor), and I used about 18 small/medium eggs I got from my chickens today. This made two skillets. Topped them with cheddar cheese and baked. I had to bake a little longer than 10 minutes each. More like 15 minutes because I wanted the eggs firmer and not runny. I was pleased with the end result. It's an easy recipe but not a "fast food" recipe due to making the bacon and cooking the potatoes. IF you had baked potatoes from the prior night, it'd be a little simpler... so bake a couple extra potatoes next time you make them for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was my first shot at making a frittata. This recipe turned very well. Changes / modifications I did: I cooked the onion over high heat first so they got a bit caramelized and then turned down the heat before putting in the egg. I also cut it down to two potatoes. Four potatoes would have been WAY too much. I added about a tablespoon of heavy cream to the eggs while beating them. I used about a cup of shredded cheese. What I may try next time: A few dashes of hot sauce in the eggs to get your attention. Use bacon instead of ham for a stronger taste. Substitute green onions / scallions to give it a bit more color. After baking in the oven, put in under the broiler for a minute or so to brown the cheese a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
If you use 2-3 potatoes instead of the 4 and add some garlic, this is a good "base" recipe. I've found it quite versatile. You can use broccoli, ham, mozzarella and Parmesan for a nice brunch dish. My family likes it for a light dinner with bacon and bell peppers with a spoonful of salsa on top. It's a good, quick meal to use up leftover veggies. Definitely add some spices to it. I've found Italian seasoning works well with broccoli and a little cayenne or red pepper flakes is great with the bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
My family LOVED this frittata! I simplified by saute-ing about 2 cups of thinly sliced new potatoes in same pan for about 10 minutes (in a combination of olive oil and butter). I added the onion (plus some green pepper) for the next 5 minutes, then the ham and then the egg mixture for 5 more minutes - covered. I put the whole thing in the oven (uncovered) for 10 minutes, then topped with the cheese and switched on the broiler for about 2 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol M Haggerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Quite tasty! I increased the recipe to feed twelve. I was worried about some other remarks about lack of flavor so I sauteed my onions along with some green pepper in a bacon grease/butter mixture instead of oil. I also added fajita seaoning and a little bit of milk to the egg mixture. A keeper for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
great recipe! To add more flavor i added I small can of green chiles, used sausage instead of ham. salt helps too : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I found this to be nice but not that great. This probably is because I didn't use ham and I used a little too much potato. I also had to transfer it from the frying pan to an oven dish and only used edam cheese. I added mushrooms, brocolli, chives and carrot which were all nice. It lacked a little in flavor so I added mixed herbs. Because I used 3 and a half potatos instead of 2 and a half it was mainly a potato dish. Maybe it would be nice with a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
It was ok... not spectacular. A good way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I agree. The potatoes should be chopped into "very" small cubes, otherwise, they take on a life of their own! I like the cheesy flavor of this, and it's definitely easy to make. I wonder if using mashed potatoes and mozarella cheese would make a difference? Maybe I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States